Have to use PwnageTool FROM JB3.0 or JB3.0.1 to get TO JB3.1, True/False? 3G(NOT 3GS)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ngenerator, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #1
    Hi All, looking for a quick answer to a question that's been bothering me all day. I have a 16GB 3G, I had JB3.0 on my phone, but restored to just the stock 3.0 firmware. My settings currently show 3.0 (7A341) with a 04.26.08 baseband.

    I am meeting a friend of mine at Panera in a few hours to use his MBP to use PwnageTool, since I can't stand waiting for a windows tool.

    I remember reading something that PwnageTool would only JB a phone to 3.1 if it is currently (or was previously) running a JB 3.0 or 3.0.1. Does anyone have any information as to whether or not this is true? Or, was this only for a 3G? I'm praying it will work, as I just restored to stock yesterday, and will be very mad at myself if it will not work tonight. TIA!
     
  2. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2


    You have a 3G so you can update or downgrade the firmware as much as you want.

    If you want to go to JB 3.1 (and be able to be unlocked), you have to use Pwnage Tool as it is the only 3.1 JB tool that's been released.

    You will need the official Apple 3.1 IPSW downloaded, but be careful not to install it.

    Go to iClarified and get a tutorial for JB a 3G to 3.1 firmware on Mac.

    Unlock is done separately by UltraSn0w.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #3
    So, am I correct in thinking that PwnageTool doesn't care what I am currently running on my phone, just so long as I point it to the correct stock 3.1 firmware and just get the custom file created?
     
  4. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    For your 3G yes, but it's different for 3GS.

    Just 2 days ago, I downgraded my 3G back to stock 3.0 to get rid of some JB issues (be sure to choose set up as new phone), then used PT to make a new IPSW and went straight back to JB 3.1

    Now all my JB issues are resolved (except the carrier name in status bar and that will happen every time with baseband 4.26.xx and firmware 3.1 as they don't play well together)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #5
    Yes! Good to hear that it worked for you, I can only hope the same will work for me. I had tried for hours last night to restore to about 10 different custom firmwares that I DL'd online, but none worked. I kept getting errors 1600 and 1604. I'm just hoping w/ PT that it will work the first time. If not, I'll at least have my own custom IPSW that I can take home and try for another few hours tonight.

    Regarding the carrier logo: I absolutely love both the "ATT carrier Logo(with the death star)" and the "redsn0w jailbroken" logos. Will either these carrier logos work on 3.1, or will I just not have a carrier?
     
  6. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    You can use MakeItMine to put whatever name you want into the status bar.

    Make sure you build the custom restore IPSW correctly
    1) Choose expert Mode
    2) If on official iPhone carrier, uncheck the activate phone box
    3) Only put Cydia and OpenSSH and OpenSSL into the IPSW, uncheck Icy
    4) Choose No when asked if pwned before

    Be sure and option click (Mac) in iTunes and select the custom restore IPSW and not the official IPSW (Hint: put them in 2 different places)

    Choose set up as new phone to stop any JB gremlins from getting into the new JB

    Good luck.

    OH yea, be sure and sync/backup your phone on your own computer before changing the firmware so after JB you can sync your stuff back.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #7
    Thanks for the help dhlizard! Even though there are a lot of threads asking similar questions, you always offer a helping hand, both here and on the dev team blog.

    Much appreciated, keep up the good work! :)
     

Share This Page