Have you ever been fired?

Discussion in 'Community' started by garzy, Apr 23, 2003.

1. garzy macrumors regular

Dec 21, 2002
    have you ever been fired from your job? was it a nasty experience? also, most importantly, did you know it was coming???

EDIT: OH, and why did you get fired?
  2. jefhatfield Retired

Jul 9, 2000
    yes, once

i had a part time job when i was in school...as a booth clerk for a supermarket...my job was to count the money, log it, and get it ready for the armored truck

i had just six hours to sort out $27,000 (on average) dollars in coins, small bills, and checks

i was just too slow

the manager expected me to know what i was doing, but i did since i was a graduate school business student...but that was not what the job needed...anyone can add...he he

being fast and getting the money ready for the armored truck was key...don't get the money ready, and the manager gets his bonus check late

when the manager fired me, he was sad to do so...i liked him a lot but he was later fired, too for funneling too much money for bonus checks for himself (the store allowed the managers to cut back checker hours to make his own check fatter...to a point though...i wonder if he got tired of getting paid late due to me...hmmmm

i went to work for a couple of accountancy firms in later years as part time gigs and even cpas could not punch the keys as fast as those supermarket booth clerks;)
  3. garzy thread starter macrumors regular

Dec 21, 2002
    man, that sucks
    i feel im about to get fired, and i think they are gonna pull one of those "im sad to see you go"

ive never been fired
  4. szark macrumors 68030

May 14, 2002
    I was fired once, from my first job at a movie theater.

One of the other employees occasionally snuck people through the side door for free. Some of the managers knew this, and it didn't really seem to bother them.