Having to reset my PRAM constantly...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by sikkinixx, Aug 9, 2006.

  1. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #1
    I took my MB in for repair a week ago because it kept shutting itself off randomly. They replaced the logic board and gave it back to me. It was working pretty good, didn't need to use it much so I never really turned it on more than once to see if it worked. Now everytime i start it up, the "ta-da" sound goes, but the screen stays a very dark gray and nothing happens. The machine is running but nothing shows up. So i reset the PRAM and it works. Problem is, almost everytime i turn the computer off, I have to do this.

    Faulty logic board.....again?! It's a shame if it is because it is running so nice now, cooler, no moo, no whine... nothing!!!
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Yeah, take it back again. That's frustrating. :(
     
  3. sikkinixx thread starter macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #3
    argh... i hope it does it when THEY try to turn it on, i hate having to argue with Apple ppl over warranty issues. :(
     
  4. ashley macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    #4
    Mine does the same thing!

    Every time I shut down/restart, I have to reset the PRAM to get it to start again.

    I called applecare and they had to give me a special case number and number to call because they didn't know the answer. I'm supposed to call back once I've checked if it has external video when it won't start.

    Anyone else have this problem?
     
  5. ashley macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    #5
    Well, I called the people handling my problem and they said to just send it in.

    This is frustrating - second time I've had to send it in, and fourth problem. Not that I'd go back to my old computer ... but a week at school without a computer is a HUGE pain. :mad: :mad: :mad:

    I'll update if they let me know what was wrong with it.
     
  6. Vaphoron macrumors 6502

    Vaphoron

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #6
    I'm sooo glad this post was at the top of the forum because I just had the same exact thing happen to me today. It just powered off for no reason and it happened a few times. I wonder if this has anything to do with the firmware update because I just installed it yesterday and this weird behavior started today. My MacBook is only 2 weeks old so I'm really angry about this.
     
  7. Frisco macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Location:
    Utopia
    #7
    You must call AppleCare. This problem will not resolves itself. I understand your anger, but Apple needs to resolve it.
     
  8. Frisco macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Location:
    Utopia
    #8
    See this thread It has more info for you.
     
  9. CrEsTo macrumors 6502

    CrEsTo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    I have the same problem, I get the dark gray screen and nothing happens.

    I sent the MB to Apple because of the yellow stains, after that the problem begun, called apple support and they are sending a box.

    Hope they fix the issue soon... Im moving to Mexico in a few weeks.
     

Share This Page