Having to restart the SMC after every opening of Starcraft II

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by xPurpleblob, Nov 2, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #1
    Everytime I play Starcraft for lets say 3 hours, then close it, go back do work and come back and open it again, the FPS goes down to 15 FPS while I have about 40~50 FPS during the 3 hours.

    Is there something wrong with my computer or do all mac users have to frequently reset their SMC?

    I have a Samsung retina 15 display, and I'm kind of reluctant to swap it out because I might get a LG one?
    Any advice?
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    Most of us don't do Starcraft so we don't have the problem. Sounds like a bug in the game.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #3
    but its strange that its affecting something in the computer itself..
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Aldaris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake
    #4
    Which model do you have? I haven't encountered that in my travels.

    It doesn't matter which screen you have.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #5
    I play StarCraft II and had to reset SMC once because of this glitch. Not only SC2 performance is affected, but the whole computer is slower until you do a SMC reset.

    I'm not sure it's linked to SC2 specifically though, but Anand had this glitch after running a bunch of tests possibly including SC2. He didn't mention when in his tests the problem appeared, but he did benchmark SC2 at some point. He blames the CPU throttling to 1.2GHz and getting stuck there until the SCM is reset.

    See the "Software Funniness" part at the end.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    zakee00

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    #6
    This is a known issue, but I'd like to find out more about it. It seems to be software related, but I'm considering taking my computer to the Apple store if it happens again.

    I also experienced this issue with SCII, but in OSX, not Boot Camp (although I do play Diablo 3 on Boot Camp, have not experienced similar performance issues). I was shocked to only get 20fps when first opening the game after reading benchmarks that suggested I should be getting closer to 50 or 60. Reset SMC and performance improved dramatically.

    Is there a thread on Apple forums regarding this issue? Is everyone experiencing it? Is it only affecting games, or does this throttling happen in OSX or other applications as well?

    :mad:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #7
    ehh i guess ill just swap this and see...
    i have some minor ocd scratches so ill take care of that lol
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Macau
    #8
    And i have to smc reset evertime i play counter strike go on steam :( without smc reset i was getting only 30 fps on ANY kind of game settings. Really annoying :(
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    #9
    That's a bug in 10.8.2 and is discussed in other threads. There was an update to EFI which made throttling more aggressive but is very buggy, especially in Boot Camp. I downgraded to 10.8.1 and wait for a fix before I update any further.
     

Share This Page