Having Trouble Ripping and Encoding these Movies, has anyone else

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Wicked1, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    No matter if I use Mac the Ripper or RipIt, I can rip the disc and play it on the mac, but I can not seem to encode using Hand Brake for whatever reason it just does not work.

    The following movies are giving me a hard time:

    Fools Gold
    Dan in Real Life
    Gridiron Gang
    Toy Story 3
    Jackass 2

    I am sure there might be more, I have about 60 discs to go thru yet out of around 800
     
  2. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    Handbrake + VLC have given me no problems with any DVD.

    Make sure they're both either x86 or x64 and the latest & nightly build.
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #3
    Some movies use methods to prevent ripping/encoding in order to try to prevent piracy. There are some workarounds, but some movies just can't be ripped.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Alabama
    #4
    Like Blueroom stated, Handbrake and VLC. I would start playing the movie using VLC and while the actual movie is playing click on Title in the toolbar and it will show you which title is playing. Most Dvd's have multiple titles only seconds apart to fool the decryption method. Once you determine the correct title open Handbrake and let it search. If it selects a Title other than the one you determined just click the dropdown arrow and select the correct title.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #5
    Once you have played the DVD and figured out which title is the actual movie, go into handbrake and select open (title specific).
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #6
    I had no problem with Toy Story 3; ripped like all the other. I have never yet found a DVD or BluRay that I could not rip.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #7
    I've had some movies (the Count of Monte Cristo for instance) that Handbrake will not complete the scan...I've left it for hours and still nothing. Usually I'll try MKV...but even that failed for me.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Alabama
    #8
    Did you have VLC running with Handbrake? It sounds like it's not decrypting the disc.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #9
    No...I was only running handbrake...

    but I finally gave up and just played it in my DVD player...and there must be a scratch or smudge I don't see, because my player could not get through the whole movie...so there you have it.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #10
    Cars 2 WILL NOT rip in any way for me. I have tried Mac The Ripper and Handbrake.

    In fact, it crashes Handbrake completely.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I have the same problem with RipIt. I ended up using AnyDVD under Windows. I wish Little App Factory would sell RipIt to someone who could do a proper job of maintaining it....
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    #12
    Handbrake

    Always used handbrake and it's never failed me as of yet. Plus there's pre settings for apple tv and other apple products.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    obsidian1200

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #13
    The only movie from the OP's list I've ripped is Toy Story 3. Had no problems ripping the DVD using Handbrake.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    #14
    What version of Handbrake are you using ? Are you up-to-date ?
    Also, try one of the nightly builds, they have fixed a lot in the last months since the last official release.'

    Rumor has it a new official release is coming soon.

    -t
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #15
    Wait, do you actually have to have VLC running in order for Handbrake to use it to decrypt a DVD? You don't just have to have VLC installed?
     

Share This Page