HBO Go verification question

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by 2010mini, Sep 3, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #1
    I searched but didn't come up with an answer.

    Can anyone tell me why the hbo go app on my apple tv is asking to reverify my apple tv?

    its annoying to have to do this every so often. is their a way to make the verification process permanent? I know its tied to my Fios account which has never lapsed.

    TIA
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #2
    No one???
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Manhattan
    #3
    I don't know why, but I had this issue with HBO Go verification through my own fios service. It got really annoying but eventually it "took" and I didn't have to keep re-verifying. In the end it didn't matter, since I dumped my cable connection. I just got tired of all the issues like this and the price.

    If you've got an ipad or iphone--its much easier to sign into HBO GO on there and just use airplay.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #4
    Because Apple isn't controlling the authentication system and those who are are jumpier than jackrabbits at a bald eagle convention - afraid their content will 'escape'.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #5
    that is really silly of them
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #6
    My experience with this has been that the iOS app signs you out after a period of inactivity, so I still have to type in my e-mail address and password (pretty much) every time you use the mobile version...

    FWIW, I don't recall having to reverify any of my Apple TV devices, but I'm using UVERSE rather than FiOS...
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    #7
    PURE SPECULATION: I wonder if it isn't the ATV itself, but possibly that you're getting a different public IP address from your provider when your DHCP lease is renewed. HBO's servers may see that IP jump as a reason to ask for re-verification.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #8
    Do you think running it by LAN instead of wifi will help? Hmmmm that would be about a 50' cable....hmmmm.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #9
    This is part of same group that dug in their heals for the transition to HD, making us wait year after year while the competing standards 'shook themselves out'.

    You don't get/keep power by doing good.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #10
    As long as the public-facing device doesn't change or go offline for an extended period of time, very unlikely. DHCP, while dynamic, will give you the same address as long as your device still has the "lease" on that address. My work laptop, while going home every night and weekend (and even offline for a week of vacation) maintains the same "dynamic" address that it's had forever and I don't have an address reservation.


    Won't help with a public-facing IP issue (if the post by Lord Hamsa is why you consider this option), that's beyond the connection from the ATV to the router.
     

Share This Page