HD space on MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by fleeper, Apr 20, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #1
    I am looking at purchasing the 11" MBA with the 64GB SSD. Those that own one, how do you handle the limited space? I have a home network so files are no issue.

    i am talking about apps. I want to have WoW, and I also want to purchase the SDK and tinker with making an app or two. Will I have enough space on the HD to accomplish this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #2
    Go for the 128!

    Hi, started out with the 64 and the same thinking using NAS drive for main storage. Took it back after two weeks and went for the 128. The 64 is much less when you subtract all the system software! Not sure of the exact numbers,

    Loving the 128 genius bit of kit. Has replaced a dell xps and runs aperture, imovie etc no problems.

    Hope useful.
    Cheers
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #3
    If I purchase the 64GB ,model, can I change out the SSD myself at a later date to a higher capacity one?
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #4
    yes you can

    although let me say this even if you buy the 64gb model opt for the 4gb of ram seriously because you can upgrade the ram and it is worth it to have the 4gb
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Yes, but you may end up paying more than you would if you bought the 128GB now. 64GB has around 49GB of free space when you first boot it. That is lots of space but if you know that you will be using more than 40GB, go with the 128GB.
     
  6. macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #6
    But the solid state memory on the MBAs are soldered onto the motherboard!
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    It's not soldered, it's simply help by one screw.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #8
    According to the ifixit teardown, the MBA SSD is indeed removable, but the system RAM is not.

    Look at the teardown from

    http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/MacBook-Air-11-Inch-Model-A1370-Teardown/3745/2

    to quote "Unfortunately, like all previous MacBook Airs, the RAM is soldered to the logic board and is not upgradable. Apple does offer a 4GB RAM option at the time of purchase, but if you opt for only 2GB and decide you want more RAM later you'll be out of luck."

    Also the picture from:

    http://www.techrepublic.com/photos/...19?seq=79&tag=content;thumbnail-view-selector

    You can see the system RAM is indeed soldered to the logic board.
     
  9. macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #9
    Problem is though: Where would you get that sort of solid state memory?
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Legion93

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Location:
    Death Star, Rishi Maze
    #10
    There is currently one company offering SSD upgrades for the 2010 MBA, which is OWC. Sizes range from 180GB, 240GB, and 360GB. These come down at an hefty price of $499.99, $579.99, and &1,179.99. Visit the following link for more information.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/OWC/Aura_Pro_Express

    Memory modules (RAM) for the new MacBook Airs are not user replaceable - they are soldered onto the logic/motherboard, however the flash memory (SSD) is replaceable by unscrewing one screw that holds it in place. I advise you to buy the MBA with 4GB installed memory by Apple, because you cannot upgrade at a later date.
     
  11. macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #11
    Cool, so if you were rich you could stuff more and more solid state storage into your MacBook Air?
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Legion93

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Location:
    Death Star, Rishi Maze
    #12
    Well literally yes - you can go up to 360GB of storage space. Me personally, I wouldn't pay a grand to upgrade my storage space.
     
  13. macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #13
    I'm sure there's a way to get more than 360GB in there if you really really really wanted to :D
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Legion93

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Location:
    Death Star, Rishi Maze
    #14
    Yes, unless your the president of the US, or maybe Steve Jobs - he'll work something out with his black polo shirt and worker denim jeans :D
     

Share This Page