HDD Replace Question...

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by xheathen, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #1
    I'm reading iFixit's 2011 Mini tear down... and it looks exceptionally easy to get in there and replace the HDD.

    http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Mac-Mini-Mid-2011-Teardown/6131/1

    What I'm not seeing, and I think this is probably because veteran experienced Mac owners probably know instinctively, is how the drive connects to that 1st SATA port.

    I can kind of see that it's a custom port, but the adapter can just connect to any ol' laptop hard drive? It seems like the only reason why you couldn't add a second is the lack of the 2nd adapter, right?

    I was thinking of getting one of these momentus drives from Seagate: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148599. Has anyone used one of the XT hybrid drives??? I'm seeing them on sale $50 off for the 500gb on Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Momen...3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1311374877&sr=1-3). Then I'm assuming you'd just do the CMD+R (if I remember right) and it'll do the internet based self recovery lion install??
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    The connector is just a standard sata plug with power all in one, yes you can use just about any 2.5 drive in there. And yes the CMD+R does work that's how I installed with my new C300 ssd on my 2011 mini. However I recommend getting an SSD if you can and then using some sort of external firewire or thunderbolt drive for storage. It really makes a big difference.
     
  3. macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #3
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #4
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    That should work just fine.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #6
    i have that on order it better work!
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #7
    Awesome :) That ram is actually from my desktop windows box. I ended up buying a miniITX that takes SODIMMs. So I'll just swap them out.
     

Share This Page