HDMI problems

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by snowwhite007, Nov 24, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    Hi guys when i connect my Air to the tv its only the Background that is showing up any ideas whats happening? Do i need something extra?:confused:
     
  2. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    A ittle More Information

    How are you connecting....? HDMI to an HDMI input on a HD TV? It can be a little tricky to get it going, NTS PAL settings need to be right too. Post back with specs. of TV and MB
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Im using my thunderbolt port with mini dispay to hdmi. Then hdmi to telly. Its a 42" full HD tv
     
  4. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    Check Settings On

    The TV, can't be much wrong that a little tweaking won't fix.
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    No, you just see the extended Desktop. If you move your mouse pointer to the right, you see it on the TV.
    To see the contents of the MBA's display on the TV:
    System Preferences > Displays >> Arrangement >>> Mirror Displays (but know, that the display with the lowest resolution determines the maximum resolution used on both, thus one display will have a lower than native resolution, except when both displays have the same native resolution)
    [​IMG]

     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #6
    awesome dude working perfect now. All i need is the audio cable now cheers Man appreciate it
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    Look at System Preferences > Sound > Output and if the MDP>HDMI adapter you use supports audio.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Ach doesnt support audio gutted cheap ebay rubbish
     

Share This Page