HDR keeps turning off after 7.0.3

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by fuzion11, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #1
    Just as a title suggests… My HDR keeps turning itself off even though the app is running in the background.

    This is happening to you too?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    What device? Doesn't on my 5s.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #3
    Do you take any pictures with flash? That turns HDR off.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    cmichaelb

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas
    #4
    Nope. I'm on the 5S and it seems to stay on better now with 7.0.3.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    ToddH

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Location:
    Central Tx
    #5
    Mine turns off too. If the app is left on in the background for a while, I have to touch to turn it back on. Before the upgrade I did not have to do this. My flash does not turn on when the HDR is off, I just have to turn the HDR back on because it turns itself off, no HDR and no flash. Not really that big of a deal, it just takes an extra step to turn it back on
     
  6. macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #6
    I turned on HDR and have been closing the app, removing it from my recently used apps list, and then opening the app. So far it's stayed on. I take a lot of pictures so I'll know by tomorrow if it's going to stay on or not.
     
  7. iPhisch, Oct 24, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2013

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    Indiana
    #7
    Mine is doing the same thing. It did it twice yesterday, and it did it again just now after I remembered to look. Gotta get this fixed!
    iPhone 5, BTW.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #8
    That's interesting I'll have to try that out. I'll report back. I just removed it from the tray, instead of leaving it open in the background. I'll give it 30 min. and then try it out.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    #9
    Mine's doing the same since updating to iOS 7.0.3. I'm on an iPhone 5. Even closing out the app and then re-opening it doesn't fix it. Stays off and I have to manually toggle it back on?!
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #10
    Same here I just tried opening up the app after having it closed for 30 minutes and I had to reenable HDR once again. It doesn't matter if the app is running in the background or not I will always have to reenable HDR. It's kind of annoying, especially because it worked flawlessly just a couple of days ago before I updated to 7.0.3
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Solitude1984

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #11
    Yep same issue on my 5s now. Sigh.
     
  12. macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #12
    I'd actually kind of like that feature.

    Photos are faster without HDR, so better for quick shots and action.

    And only turn HDR on when need multiple exposure. And automatically turning off after I've done that for other quick shots.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #13
    It's not a feature, it's a bug. The HDR option is supposed to be persistent. Currently HDR randomly turns off when switching back into / relaunching the photo app. Sometimes it stays on, sometimes it doesn't.

    Some people choose to shoot HDR for all individual shots.

    What I've noted:
    - If HDR is on, and the camera app is force quit and relaunched, it stays on.
    - If HDR is on, and the camera app is backgrounded then switched back to within a short time frame, it stays on.

    It seems to only be an issue if the OS decides to kill the backgrounded camera app to free up resources. Then when you relaunch it, it comes back as disabled. More confusing is that the saved image of the camera app still has HDR set to on, so for the first quarter second or so, it appears to be on, but then flips back off as the cached image is replaced with the real app output.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #14
    FYI the "grid" option in settings also won't stick. Unchecks itself as soon as you exit camera settings. Anybody else?
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    #15
    The grid option sticks for me (iPhone 5), just the HDR option that doesn't :/
     
  16. macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #16
    My HDR is also being disabled. :( Every picture I take is HDR unless I need the flash so now I'll simply need to remember to turn it on every time until they fix it or don't.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    GlenK

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Location:
    St. Augustine, FL
    #17
    It stays on on my 5S even if I close out the app then relaunch. HDR stays on until I turn it off or hit the flash on or back to auto. Then it goes off until I engage it again.
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
  19. macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    #20
    Same thing happening here; noticed right away as I always keep HDR on :p
    iPhone 5, fwiw...
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    cwosigns

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus,OH
    #21
    Same issue. Sucks because I leave HDR on. 7.0.2 it was fine. Now my gyroscope works better, but they've broken the camera app. Wish they would fix bugs without introducing new ones.
     
  22. macrumors regular

    wilky76

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Location:
    Wigan
    #22
    This is not a bug, it's very common on Android phones were once the camera app closes HDR setting would turn off, just seem Apple have decided to add this feature into the 7.0.3 update.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    cwosigns

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus,OH
    #23
    Apple wouldn't make a change like this randomly. It's a bug. Unless you work for Apple, and work in iOS 7 development,you wouldn't know.
     
  24. macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #24
    Apple also suddenly got rid of the unlock sound without any information about it...hard to say if that's a bug or not.
     
  25. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #25
    This is bugging me a bit. Perhaps I'll get used to it, but it's a little annoying having to turn it on every other time I want to take some pics.
     

Share This Page