HDTV Tuner Cards?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by zdank420, Feb 10, 2003.

  1. zdank420 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    #1
    Does anyone know where to find MAC-compatible Digital TV (ATSC) HD-Capable tuner cards?

    All I can find is NTSC USB 1.1 crap...
     
  2. MacAztec macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #2
    Re: HDTV Tuner Cards?

    I really dont know what exactly you are looking for, I'm not even sure if they are made.

    But, its not MAC, its Mac or mac. I dont know why everyone says MAC like it stands for something. Its not like MAC...LAN...IP...UDP...
     
  3. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #3
    Sorry, they don't exist for the Mac yet.

    Plenty for the PC, none for Mac.
     
  4. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #4
    Re: Re: HDTV Tuner Cards?

    actually MAC does mean something, i believe media access control, it's a unique serial number that a network device gives off, like a permanant IP address...

    :)

    nviow knows about the HDTV stuff, where's she at?
    [edit] oh hi didn't see you :)

    pnw
     
  5. MacAztec macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #5
    Re: Re: Re: HDTV Tuner Cards?

    So, he is lookin for a Media Access Control HDTV Card? :rolleyes:
     
  6. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #7
    we're computer geeks, what do you expect?

    :D

    pnw
     
  7. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #8
    I'm not a geek, I just play one on Macrumors.[​IMG]
     
  8. zdank420 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    #9
    so MACaztec.. if I told you to "blow it our your ASS" would that imply that ASS is an acronym?

    So if no ATSC tuner card exists for the mac then your telling me that the only way to display high definition television images on the Apple 23" LCD HD-capable monitor would be to connect it to a stand-alone outboard Digital TV tuner with DVI output?

    What I want to do is have The Tonight Show (as an example HD broadcast) in a OS X window, and then maximize it for the full HD experience if desired..
     
  9. RichardCarletta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Utica, NY
    #10
    Formac could release a HDTV version of their Formac Studio

    Since the HDTV tuner costs $250 more to make , it would probably sell for about $800 . I emailed them the idea about 3 months ago . with the trends toward wide- screen displays , I suspect that it is a top priority item that they are designing. I read somewhere that Apple is trying to design a PCI HDTV card for the PowerMac . Probably they will concentrate more on that once the 970 PowerMacs are out the door.
     
  10. zdank420 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    #11
    Considering you can get a Windows-based HDTV tuner card for around $300, that seems way high...

    here are a few I've located:

    MIT MDP-100
    HiDTV
    HiPix DTV-200
    AccessDTV Digital Media Receiver 2.0
    Win-TV HD
    MyHD MDP-100

    I have to wonder what the point of advertising the Apple 23" LCD Cinema display as "HD" when there doesn't seem to be anyway of actually showing HDTV on it.

    The only way I can figure out so far is to buy a stand-alone outboard HDTV Tuner with DVI output, and then buy an ADC to DVI converter and connect it that way. Even then, I'd be skeptical that it would work.

    If someone has a better solution speak now or forever hold your peace!
     
  11. RichardCarletta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Utica, NY
    #12
    PCI cards wil always be cheaper than firewire devices .

    Normally Formac sells their Formac Studio for around $400 . In a news story I read last year I read that it would cost companies an additional $250 per unit to update tvs with high definition tv tuners . So my math went like this :

    $400 for Formac Studio
    + $ 250 addition of HD tuner
    -------------------------------------------------
    $650
    + $150 profit margin because it would be the " HOT" new product and because of simple greed
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    $800 suggest retail price
     
  12. yzedf macrumors 65816

    yzedf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #13
    HD = high density

    That can be for pixels (ala the 23") or for TV signals (ala HDTV) or for clouds, etc etc.
     

Share This Page