Headphone monitoring: How to get stereo?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Quincy, Feb 6, 2005.

1. Quincy macrumors newbie

Hey, all:

This is probably an ignorant question, as I am a MAJOR computer-recording newbie (just got Garageband 48 hrs. ago), but here goes . . .

I have GB2 on a new iMac. I'm doing guitar and vocals through an ART tube pre-amp, from there into an mAudio FastTrack (the latter being primarily for the USB connection). I bought these decent stereo headphones (Sony MDR-V700s) for monitoring. I live in a tight space and can't keep everyone awake with real monitor speakers.

Problem is, the headphones have a 1/4" stereo jack. And no matter where I plug this thing in--i.e., to the back of the computer, or into the headphone jack on the FastTrack--the process of going from 1/4" to 1/8", with an adaptor, cuts out one of the channels. I get sound only in the left channel.

The obvious solution would be to cut out the adaptor, I realize (and I should add here that I've checked on my stereo to make sure the headphones work properly in both channels: they do). But I don't see a 1/4" jack anywhere that would receive them. There's one on the back of the ART pre-amp, but that'll always be taken up with outputting the signal, either into the FastTrack or by some more direct cable-to-USB method.

Any ideas? It's such a boneheaded problem, but I'm sort of stuck for solutions.

Many thanks,
    Q

2. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

WinterMute

Check to see if the 1/8" plug is a steroe plug (2 black bands).

If it isn't , go get a stereo adaptor, if it is, try another adaptor anyway...

Sounds like you ahve an adaptor problem... ;)

The best adaptors are short cables that have a 1/8" plug on one end and a 14" socket on the other, the all-in-one design isn't too reliable from 1/4 to 1/8".

3. Quincy thread starter macrumors newbie

Re: Headphone monitoring: How to get stereo?

Thanks a lot. I'll probably end up getting a new adaptor.