HEEELLLP- Something just went wrong with my HD

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by AppleAce, Nov 20, 2005.

  1. AppleAce macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    So I was encoding some video using ffmpegX, ripping a DVD with OSex, and surfing the internet with Safari, and all of a sudden, Safari hangs while trying to load Imdb. Safari also unexpectedly quit earlier this afternoon too, it was kind of weird. Anyway, I hit Opt-Cmd-Esc and it sits there for a little while and nothing happens. I can still move all the windows around and change applications at this point, and the status bar on ffmpegX is still moving. I then try to quit Safari by right clicking the dock icon and going to Force Quit, but the Dock hangs right when I move my mouse over the Safari Icon, so the dock is frozen with part of it magnified.
    At this point, everything else hangs, the progress bars in ffmpegX and OSex stop moving, and all I can do is move the mouse around, can't switch windows anymore, and so I try Opt-Cmd-Esc a couple more times and nothing happens. The HD is still making noises, it was doing like 2 read/write sounds in quick succession, then a short, like half a second maybe, pausem then 2 more sounds, it just kept repeating this.
    So I reluctantly hold the power button and do a hard restart. BTW, the machine this is happening on is in my sig, a dual 2.5 w/ 2x512 ram, 250 gb HD, running 10.4.3, that's the OS version we're on, right? I've downloaded all the updates, security updates, everything is updated fully.
    Anyway, upon the reboot, it hangs on the white screen with the gray apple, the circle of lines below it doesn't come up, I have my computer set to boot in verbose mode by default, and it didn't get that far to the console, it just hung on the white apple screen. The hard drive was also making the exact same pattern of noises when that it did when Safari hung originally. So I hard reboot again, and the same thing happens, except not the HD noises this time.
    So I turn on my external firewire and boot from the Tiger partition on that, which boots up fine, (That's what I'm on right now, same computer, but booted from external drive) my internal HD doesn't appear on the desktop, so I open up disk utility and Macintosh HD is grayed out. I click on "233.8 GB Maxtor 7Y250M0" and the SMART status is verified. I try to mount Macintosh HD with Disk Utility and it brings up a dialog box that says Mount Failed. The disk "Macintosh HD" could not be mounted. Try running First Aid on the disk and then retry mounting. So I hit repair disk, and the status window says:

    Invalid Volume Header (In red)
    Checking HFS Plus Volume
    Checking Extents Overflow file
    Invalid Key Length (also in red)
    Volume Check failed. (Red)

    Error: The underlying task reported failure on exit. (Red)

    1 HFS Volume Checked
    1 volume could not be repaired because of an error

    I also booted from the Tiger Install disk and ran first aid, got the same messages for Mount, Verify, Repair, everything.

    I also zapped the PRAM, reset-nvram and reset-all from Open Firmware, none of those helped.

    Is there anything else I can do, short of reinstalling everything? Is this something that DiskWarrior might fix? I don't have a copy of it, but I might be able to get a hold of one from the ITS helpdesk (I'm at college, and I really don't feel like reinstalling everything if I don't absolutely have to.) It doesn't seem like a hardware failure, since the SMART status is still verified. Uh oh, I just checked the SMART staus again, and it says "Not Supported." It's still in black letters, and it's not Unverified, or Failing, so that's not as bad, maybe? I guess it might have said not supported earlier, I can't say for sure, it definitely didn't say Failing or anything though.

    Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
     
  2. jer446 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    #2
    woah i have the same problem.. sometimes i get the gray screen and no apple.. but now my smart disk failed.. it needs to be sent into a store.. i called up apple and they wouldnt let me replace the hd myself, they are making me bring it into a store.. im just holding off until the whole machine dies because i dont have time.. i backed up everything i need.. and hey maybe ill get lucky and when it dies, they will replace it with the new intel imacs when they come out..
     
  3. Will Cheyney macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    I ran into the same problem once. I went into uni to meet with a project partner (one of our final exam pieces) and my PowerBook just refused to turn on.
    Nothing fixed it apart from a complete wipe and reinstall. I luckily managed to back my stuff up using Firewire disc target mode (hold down 'T' during initial boot). Phew!
     
  4. AppleAce thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Ok, SMART status is definitely Verified, I think I was looking at the SMART status of my firewire drive that was "Not supported."

    I just restarted into target firewire mode, and it booted into that fine, so I may try to get the data off the drive if I can find a firewire cable, and borrow one of my friend's iBooks.
     
  5. yenko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    SouthWest-USA
    #5
    Boot to single user mode (command-s) at boot chime. Run; fsck -f at the prompt. :cool:
     
  6. AppleAce thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    I thought of trying that, I don't know if it will boot into single-user, since it wouldn't go into the verbose console. I'll try it though, in a minute here.
    After doing some googling, it looks like DiskWarrior might fix it. Also, on some other board, someone had an Invalid key length error, and they used a program called Data Rescue to recover the files. I downloaded a demo of this program and did a scan of the disk, and it definitely sees all the directory structure as far as I can tell. And I recovered a file, which I will try to open up on another computer here in a minute, after I try fsck.
     
  7. AppleAce thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Ok, I definitely couldn't get it to boot into single-user from the internal drive. I could from my firewire, though, and single-user mode couldn't see my internal drive, much less run fsck on it. Open firmware wasn't able to display the directory or navigate it or anything either.

    As I said earlier though, the Data Rescue (from www.prosofteng.com) scan was successful, and I was able to open the word file I recovered.
    Looks like I'm going to need either this program or DiskWarrior to recover anything then. I do have a backup of my user folder from a couple of weeks ago, so I'm not in dire straits, but I do have a paper due this week, which I do have a copy of on my flash drive, so as I said before, I don't want to have to do a clean reinstall of everything if I don't absolutely have to, although I probably will over Thanksgiving break, if I haven't done so already, just to get everything in working order for sure. I'm going to see if I can't round up a copy of DiskWarrior or Data Rescue since I don't really want to have to shell out 79.95 or 99.99 right now for the download unless I have no other option.
     
  8. yenko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    SouthWest-USA
    #8
    Boot from the install disk and run disk utility>repair disk. ;)
    You may need to run it several times.
     
  9. AppleAce thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    Already tried that, it gave Invalid Volume Header and Invalid Key Length errors.
     
  10. yenko macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Location:
    SouthWest-USA
    #10
    That suggests a corrupt or damaged directory that Disk Utility is unable to repair. I have found that making repair attempts several times may actually repair the directory to a usable state. You may have to remove the Boot CD and reinsert it again to repeat the disk repair. Try it several times and see if you can boot to single user mode.
    If that won't do it, you'll need Disk Warrior or Tech Tools Pro to repair it. I'm not to sure what that data recovery thing you talked about does as far as repairing the directory goes, but I think it just recovers data and won't do anything about a damaged file/directory structure.
     
  11. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
  12. AppleAce thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Yeah, the utility I mentioned just recovers files.
    I'll try running repair from disk utility a bunch and see if that helps at all.
    I'm really not all that worried, though, I probably will just end up doing a clean reinstall, because I have everything important on my backup, and any new music I've accumulated is on my iPod, which I'll be able to get by un-invisible-izing the files with TinkerTool.
     
  13. AppleAce thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    I've attempted repairing with Disk Utility a BUNCH of times (like, over 100 easily) both from my firewire drive and from the Tiger Install DVD. The disk still won't mount, but I have been getting some different messages from Disk Utility. Sometimes it says:

    Invalid Volume Header
    Checking HFS Plus Volume
    Cheking Extents Overflow file.
    Keys Out of order.
    Repairing Volume <--This is in green :D
    Rechecking Volume

    That pattern of messages repeats 3 times, I believe, and is then followed by

    Checking HFS Plus Volume
    Checking HFS Plus Volume (Yes, I meant to type this twice)
    tents Overflow file.",0)
    Keys Out of order.
    The Voume Macintosh HD could not be repaired after 3 attempts

    Error: The underlying task reported failure on exit.

    1 HFS Volume Checked.
    1 Volume could not be repaired because of an error.
    Repair attempted on 1 volume.
    1 volume could not be repaired.

    This sequence of messages has happened probably about 10 times maybe? out of all of the repair disk attempts.


    Also, sometimes, randomly it seems, when I click repair disk, I get a dialog box that says DiskManagementTool requires that you type your password.

    Any more insight? Thanks for the suggestions so far. I'll probably try repairing with Disk Utility a few more times, and then just reinstall I guess.
     

Share This Page