Hello everybody!

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by CrackedButter, Jan 15, 2003.

1. CrackedButter macrumors 68040

CrackedButter

Hi everybody, this is my first post on these boards, i got here by following a link from OSnews.com. My life could be further sucked down by signing up to another forum, this will be my 10th!

I'm a windows/linux user and i'm thinking of making the switch, i've seriously thought about doing this since the recent MacWorld. Anything before that was just part time thinking on my part.

I'm soon to be selling my AMD 1600XP system and my NEC Versa Laptop in order to buy a mac. I'm going to raise about £2000.00 in order to switch so i can use Yellow Dog (joking).

I've been using wintels personally since 1996, anything before that was just at school. But i can say, the first computer i ever touched was a mac (yay!), the reason (short version) why i havn't got one already is because i never had the money.

Anyway, this year is "Year of the Mac" and i want one. I don't know why i havn't got one sooner. The ibooks and Tibooks have wonderfull features like long battery life, lightweight and wonderful design, i regret buying this laptop i'm using now.

Everything isn't so rosing though, i want a new mac but i don't know which one. Here's how i see it before me:

Buy the 12" Tibook knowing that there is going to be new faster processors coming out, so instead of buying one, i just save up for the newer ones later on.

OR

Buy an ibook instead, saving me money now, but buy a newer one later on when the newer processors come out.

The lightweight and long battery are the most important features to me at this moment, and both books are roughly the same and a huge improvement over Intel laptops anyway.