HELP! 10.4.2 turned my iMac into a POS!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DakotaGuy, Jul 13, 2005.

  1. DakotaGuy macrumors 68040

    DakotaGuy

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    South Dakota, USA
    #1
    Did anyone have this happen when they updated???

    There is no sound from most of the computer now, but from some Applications there is. For instance, I have Finder, iTunes, Quicktime, iChat, Mail, etc. Basically any Apple application is fine as is the system.

    Now none of my third party Apps have sound...Yahoo Messenger, Real Player, WMP, etc. PLUS Many websites that have video content will play, but no sound at all and that is in Safari and Firefox.

    What a mess 10.4.2 turned my computer into. I am seriously just thinking about going back to Panther. Tiger has been nothing but trouble on this computer since Day 1. Seems like I have had to re-install more then I used to install Windows 98 on my friends old Packard Hell.

    If anyone has seen this or knows a possible fix let me know. I have AppleCare and will call them tomorrow, I have NEVER seen something this goofy. I repaired permissions, didn't work. I also went out and deleted all my free 3rd party apps and re-installed, didn't work, also deleted all the preference files and restarted, again...nothing.
     
  2. ericssonboi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
  3. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
  4. DakotaGuy thread starter macrumors 68040

    DakotaGuy

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    South Dakota, USA
    #4
    If you had read my post you will see that I had already repaired permissions.

    Anyhow I got the issue fixed, so if there is anyone else out there with this problem here is the link to the fix...

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=300832

    I guess I better search Apple's help better next time before making a new thread, but at least if someone else has the same problem they won't have to go through what I did. Thanks for the help.
     
  5. DakotaGuy thread starter macrumors 68040

    DakotaGuy

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    South Dakota, USA
    #5
    I don't know...I just loaded the image and that is what it came up as. Why is mine bigger then most? I never really noticed. Anyhow if you were wondering what is it...it is the tach from a 2006 Yamaha Apex snowmobile.
     
  6. TimDaddy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Location:
    Versailles, KY (and that's pronounced Vurr-sales)
    #6
    Thanks for the link. This problem has been bugging me for weeks. I just now had time off work to do a million things, and finally got around to searching for this solution. Thanks a lot, man!
     

Share This Page