Help 15gb harddrive space disappeared

Discussion in 'macOS' started by brsboarder, Nov 17, 2005.

  1. brsboarder macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    #1
    Ok, so here's what happens, I used mactheripper to rip two dvd's, one using my external drive, the other my internal, well, usually go to my external, well I guess they went to my normal HD, but searching everywhere resulted nothing, are they hidden? what could have happened? I tried all types of search tecnhiques
     
  2. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #2
    First, have you tried restarting just for the heck of it? If it's a temp file somewhere, that might delete it.

    Usually, I'd go through each folder and do a get info, looking for the one that appears bigger than its supposed to, then repeat until I've narrowed it down to the one I want, but this won't work for files you don't own, nor invisible files like /etc, if the things you're looking for ended up in one of those locations. Worth a shot, though. The same process can be done in the terminal to get everything, but I can't tell you the command you want.

    If that doesn't work, you'd be better off looking at the documentation of MacTheRipper and seeing where it puts stuff so you know where to go with the Terminal to find the offending files.
     
  3. Shon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    #3
    Try using WhatSize app?

    It's a nifty little freeware app that just goes through your HD and shows you the size of things...

    What's nice, is you can then sort by what's taking up the most space and drill down inside of the folders... Here's the link on Version Tracker:

    http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/21149

    I would think those files would show up pretty distinctly...

    Good luck!
     
  4. brsboarder thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    #4
    Ok, so I tried that program and it said I have used up the amount that my HD is claiming, but when it went to categorize all my files into sizes, it was short that 15gb, what could be the deal??? I restarted, reset PRAM, Permission etc! Help!

    / - on disk 37.1 GB (39,125,447,629 bytes), 287013 files and 74762 folders
    While below that it says: 55.7gb capacity, used 53.2 can anyone please help???
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Check this thread out:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=133514

    And scroll down to Yellow's post with terminal commands. This should pretty easily lead you to an answer. They're probably in one of three places:

    /tmp
    /library/caches/
    ~/library/caches/
     
  6. Apple macrumors 6502

    Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    Delocalizer will clear up some space for you. However, it just deletes extra languages so it wouldn't find that file.
     
  7. brsboarder thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    #7
    brandon-steins-ibook-g4:~ Bstein$ "df"
    Filesystem 512-blocks Used Avail Capacity Mounted on
    /dev/disk0s3 116948016 111159088 5276928 95% /
    devfs 196 196 0 100% /dev
    fdesc 2 2 0 100% /dev
    <volfs> 1024 1024 0 100% /.vol
    automount -nsl [112] 0 0 0 100% /Network
    automount -fstab [156] 0 0 0 100% /automount/Servers
    automount -static [156] 0 0 0 100% /automount/static

    632K ./.dvdcss
    4.0K ./.mplayer
    0B ./.Trash
    35M ./Desktop
    319M ./Documents
    180M ./Incomplete
    124M ./Library
    0B ./Movies
    25G ./Music
    1.9G ./Pictures
    16K ./Public
    28K ./Sites
    28G .
    brandon-steins-ibook-g4:~ Bstein$ cd /
    brandon-steins-ibook-g4:/ Bstein$ sudo du -h -d 1
    34M ./.Spotlight-V100
    0B ./.Trashes
    1.0K ./.vol
    2.5G ./Applications
    1.5K ./automount
    3.5M ./bin
    4.8M ./Cocktail.app
    0B ./cores
    2.0K ./dev
    ç4.8G ./Library
    3.5K ./Network
    76M ./private
    2.2M ./sbin


    I can't really understand that, can someone help??
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Okay, so you lost 15gb of space, right? In that printout is a list of folders on your computer and their size.

    You have a 60GB hard drive, right? And it looks like you're showing about 30GB free, which you feel should be closer to 45?

    Can you tell me if those specific numbers are correct?

    If all of that is correct, there is only one place on your hard drive where there can be 15GB of files -- the Music folder -- because that's the only subfolder that has a size bigger than 15GB.
     
  9. brsboarder thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    #9
    Almost correct, except that I feel like I should have 18gb free and it shows 2gb. When I click on my hard drive, it says capacity 55.77 gb, available 2.32gb, used 53.45gb when I feel like I've only used 40gb

    When I try to import a 6gb file, it doesnt let me
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    Okay, thank you. What version of OS X are you using? There's something not right about your output from du. Let me show you mine:

    Code:
    mkrishnan$ cd /
    mkrishnan$ sudo du -h -d 1
    Password:
    603M    ./.Spotlight-V100
      0B    ./.Trashes
    1.0K    ./.vol
    2.4G    ./Applications
    170M    ./Applications (Mac OS 9)
    1.5K    ./automount
    5.2M    ./bin
      0B    ./cores
      0B    ./Desktop Folder
    2.0K    ./dev
    2.5G    ./Library
    3.0K    ./Network
     16M    ./opt
    1.6G    ./private
    2.2M    ./sbin
    1.5G    ./System
    169M    ./System Folder
      0B    ./TheFindByContentFolder
      0B    ./TheVolumeSettingsFolder
     21G    ./Users
    487M    ./usr
    4.0K    ./Volumes
     31G    .
    mkrishnan$ 
    
    According to the filesystem, that number at the bottom -- the one that's just "." -- 31GB in my case, and 28GB in your case -- is essentially all the files that are on the hard drive.

    So that number doesn't seem to match what you're getting from "Get Info" in finder. On my HD, I have 31GB used, 37GB formatted capacity, and my free space listed by Finder is consistent (6GB).

    But also I don't see some very important directories listed in your output. You should have a ./Users folder. Is it not shown because the text wrapped around? Try scrolling up in Terminal and looking for it, and figure out how big it is.... This folder contains the homes of all users on your account. In the case in that other thread, the files were hiding in there.
     
  11. brsboarder thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    #11
    when I try to redo it, running os x tiger, recently (3 weeks reinstalled clean)

    brandon-steins-ibook-g4:~ Bstein$ sudo du -h -d 1
    632K ./.dvdcss
    4.0K ./.mplayer
    0B ./.Trash
    35M ./Desktop
    319M ./Documents
    180M ./Incomplete
    133M ./Library
    0B ./Movies
    25G ./Music
    1.9G ./Pictures
    16K ./Public
    28K ./Sites
    28G .
    brandon-steins-ibook-g4:~ Bstein$
     
  12. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    This is your user directory only. It doesn't look like the files you're looking for are in there. Make sure to do the "cd /" first and then the sudo du....
     
  13. brsboarder thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    #13
    Last login: Fri Nov 18 19:27:20 on ttyp1
    Welcome to Darwin!
    brandon-steins-ibook-g4:~ Bstein$ cd /
    brandon-steins-ibook-g4:/ Bstein$ sudo du -h -d 1
    Password:
    34M ./.Spotlight-V100
    0B ./.Trashes
    1.5K ./.vol
    2.5G ./Applications
    1.5K ./automount
    3.5M ./bin
    4.8M ./Cocktail.app
    0B ./cores
    2.0K ./dev
    4.8G ./Library
    3.5K ./Network
    146M ./private
    2.2M ./sbin
    19G ./Volumes
    57G .
     
  14. brsboarder thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    #14
    so based on that, I'm guessing its in the ./volumes? i know that I have about 26gb of music, and 1-2gb of pictures but how do i look in volumes?
     
  15. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #15
    /Volumes would include all volumes (external drives, internal drives, cd/dvds, floppies, network drives, et cetera), Here, lemme show you:
    Code:
    jane@mordor:/ $ du -hd 1
    188M    ./.Spotlight-V100
      0B    ./.Trashes
    3.0K    ./.vol
    2.7G    ./Applications
    1.5K    ./automount
    3.5M    ./bin
      0B    ./cores
    2.0K    ./dev
     91M    ./Developer
    4.9G    ./Library
    2.0K    ./Network
    522M    ./opt
    1.0G    ./private
    2.2M    ./sbin
    1.1G    ./System
    8.7G    ./Users
    493M    ./usr
    228G    ./Volumes
    248G    .
    
    You could try doing a search to see if there is any folder created within a certain timeframe (when you ripped the DVD)
     
  16. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #16
    Hmmmm...so did you have any DVDs in the drive or external drives attached when you did this? If not, your volumes folder should be close to empty, like mine, and not have a high volume like Janey's. Try looking in there. Perhaps mounted copies of those DVDs that you imported have taken residence in there? :(
     
  17. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #17
    Deleting large files: what is "Previous System Localized"?

    I used "WhatSize" and saw I have six gigs of hd space under "Previous System Localized" ... what is that and can I delete it? It was shown in red, like the system folder. Anyone know what the heck that is?

    Hey, I was trying to start a new thread after searching out this one... don't kill me for opening an old thread! Hit the wrong buttons I guess
     
  18. gman71882 macrumors 6502

    gman71882

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #18
    The Previous system folder is there becuase you did an Archive an Install at one time. Its just your old System Files from before the reinstall. IT is there incase you need some prefs, Or Older system files that got reinstalled from the installation.
     

Share This Page