Help (About iPod)

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Louisville S, Jul 13, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    I plug my firewire cord into my iPod and it's telling me "OK to disconnect. ." Computer won't recognize it. .funny thing is it was working a couple of days ago. . .It tried restarting the iPod/ My computer, trying a different firewire port. I just don't want to restore my iPod. I have a lot of music on there. . Anything else I could do? I have Windows XP by the way and my iPod is a 5GB Windows.
    Ok this is weird. I just plugged it into the charger. .it tells me ok to disconnect. .isn't it suppose to tell me "charged or charging?" The battery moves though when connected to my computer or the charger. .I have that 1.3 firmware installed. .but I don't really think it's that because my iPod has been working great for the past month or so . .Is there any way to format it "from the iPod" I am afraid that if I take it back to CompUSA where I got it they'll tell me they can't help me because I've installed a unoffical firmware. . .I have a 2 year tap with them also. .I hope I am not so out of luck. .I could always wait until 1.3 comes out for windows. .whenever that is. . Then take it back to them. I hope there's some hope left.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    Have you tried resetting the iPod? Press menu and play at the same time and it'll reset the iPod. You won't lose your music. That has solved any odd little iPod problem I've had.

    What's the "unofficial" firmware you're using?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #3
    1.3, someone on iPodlounge gave it out. I forget where. I've resetted the iPod many times. .no luck.
     
  4. Gus
    macrumors 65816

    Gus

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #4
    I don't think CompUSA will care, really. I just took my old 5GB iPod in for repair, and they couldn't fix it, and I got a brand new 10GB iPod! The new one style one. The worst they will do is reformat it, in which case you'll lose your data, but at least the iPod will work again.

    Regards,
    Gus

    P.S. Exactly which reset did you perform?
     
  5. macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #5
    I suggest you get a different firewire cable. If that doesn't help, your firewire controller may be shot (on the computer). I would say this is 80% likely a hardware issue.

    pnw
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #6
    Menu+Play button reset, and the

    Reset.

    I am taking it into compusa tomorrow. . .
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #7
    I tried my friends firewire cable and his charger and it still did the same thing when I tried to charge it.

    You think I should move my firewire card to a different pci slot. .?

    Why would that fix it? I mean when I plug my iPod into my charger it still tells me "OK to disconnect," so I am assuming it's the iPod since moving the firewire card wouldn't fix that. .And I tried it with my friends firewire cable/charger, same result. .
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #8
    Going to CompUSA now to see what they can do, wish me luck!
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #9
    Woot compusa took the 5 GB back. I got a 10 GB now. It's the newer version, and they put the newest firmware on there. But hey, an iPod is better than no iPod. I also bought another 2 yr extended warrenty.
     

Share This Page