help - activating verizon iphone 5

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by normalphone, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #1
    Hi,
    I'm buying from Ebay a sealed iphone 5 of verizon.

    Do you know if should expect any problem activating it?
    I don't need to verizon line, I want to use an at&t sim card as all verizon's iphone 5 are unlock.

    Should i expect any problem in the itunes activation of the iphone 5?
    (Dont need/want verizon to activate any line)

    will I need something like the verizon sim card or it will activate with any sim card?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
    I got my Verizon iPhone 5 from best buy, and it came with a Verizon sim card although I don't have a contract or anything with Verizon..
    With the iPhone 5 you don't need to connect to iTunes to activate, since mine had a sim card in it, as soon as I turned on it said activated and yes I believe you can activate with any sim card since it comes factory unlocked
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #3
    I just purchased a no contract full priced Verizon iPhone 5 at Walmart last night, I went through the normal activation setup on the phone but it will not activate, it keeps constantly popping up the annoying message: 'iPhone not activated' I have no contract with Verizon and I don't want one at all, I simply want the iPhone to stop sending that alert message, and I want to use it as an iPod essentially until I decide if I want straight talk or not. Can anyone help please?
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Location:
    Peru
    #4
    Have you tried making a full restore?

     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #5
    Yes multiple times, took the SIM card out and put it back in etc. it just keeps popping that message up. It is so annoying. I just want an iPhone with no service right now, until I decide to get Straight Talk.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Location:
    Peru
    #6
    I bought a full price iPhone 5 from ATT at best buy.
    The phone is coming to my country in two days.
    ATT accepted my unlock request and I told them that I dont have a line with them. When I asked them about the activation, they told me that I wont need to do that because the phone is unlocked. Can't wait to try it. I have been very worried about that... so why dont you call verizon and ask them to unlock? otherwise, go to walmart and ask them to help you.
    Have you tried using another SIM? (a non verizon one)


     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #7
    Yeah I called verizon but they said they couldn't do it or something to that affect. I'll have to try Walmart back today or I'll just trade it for an AT&T one, and do what you did because I know AT&T offers free unlocks. Thanks for the suggestions.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Location:
    Peru
    #8
    Keep us updated!
    Good luck!

     
  9. macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #9
    You need to put an active sim in there. When you do, the pop up will go away.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #10
    Try putting an active sim card from at&t or t-mobile or any other carrier and see if it works
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #11
    I don't have any active sim currently, I don't want verizon service either, there is a verizon sim in the phone but I bought it full price without a contract. I simply want it to function with no service and no pop up until I get straight talk, if that is possible.
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #12
    I got mine with no contract from verizon, and like you I don't want verizon service, but when I turned the iPhone on, it said activated!
     
  13. o0jelly0o, Nov 26, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2012

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #13
    Hmm, maybe there is a problem with mine or possibly the SIM that came in it. Or maybe they activated yours at the store? I bought mine at Walmart so they didn't do anything but hand it to me.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #14
    They just handed to me too, it came sealed and I opened when i got home

    strangely it shows signal and 3G with the verizon sim although i don't have anything to do with verizon
     

Share This Page