Help - Bricked iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Celery11, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #1
    Hi All,

    A guy from work lent me his iphone to borrow for a few weeks whilst my phone is being repaired. I am guessing his phone was jailbroken but I went to settings and reset all data so I could use from scratch. This caused the phone to freeze on the black screen with the white apple logo. I have since tried all methods on the internet I can possibly find which just results in all different types of errors on itunes - which include 16OO, 16O1, 13O5 etc etc. I have tried the restore, DFU mode and everything

    Please could someone help? Should I just take the old phone into an apple shop and ask for help?

    I can't face telling my friend that I have broke his phone he kindly lent me.

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    I'm sure it's nothing a DFU Restore can't fix.

    Unfortunately he might lose his jailbreak out of all of this lol
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #3
    Yeah I don't mind as long as I can get the actual phone working.

    So how do you go about a full DFU restore?
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #4
    is it a 3g/3gs? what carrier was it on prior?did it happen to be unlocked?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #5
    I'm pretty sure it is a 3g (but cannot be certain). My sim card is on o2. Not sure if it was unlocked.

    Sorry can't be much help.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #6
    Yeah I've tried that. Then I click on restore and it restores but return with an error. I think its error 1015.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #7
    not a problem.

    first and furthermost make sure you are in DFU mode.
    http://osxdaily.com/2010/06/24/iphone-dfu-mode-explained-and-how-to-enter-dfu-mode-on-your-iphone/

    then try to restore.

    1601 typically means you arent in DFU mode, bad usb port/cable/ or not using the current itunes..

    so try the above then let us know

    ----------
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #8
  9. macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #9
    usually 1015 is from them downgrading the baseband.. or using it with an ipad baseband.

    Make a custom IPSW (using pwnagetool or sn0wbreeze) with baseband update disabled - restore with this. This may fix the 1015 error.
    If you are restoring to iOS 4.2.1 - try using FixRecovery (downloadable from thefirmwareumbrella.blogspot.com)
    Restore to an older iOS version and use recboot to exit past the 1015 error

    ----------

    well the 1015 error he just mentioned... dfu prolly wont fix it. means he has a downgraded baseband/ipad baseband and is trying to restore it.. he needs to restore with a custome fw and skip updating the baseband
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #10
    Oh alright, a little more complex than I originally thought.

    I don't envy him lol
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #11
    me either! thank god its easy to "factory" unlock phones now so these problems dont exist on new phones.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #12
    Great so sounds like I'm screwed.
    :(
    I have tried the DFU mode restore and just get error 1015 again. I have tried Snowbreeze to make a custom restore file but this didn't work. I also tried fiddling around with TinyUmbrella and this didn't work.

    Anything else?
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #13
    Just want to say a massive thanks to BFizzzle!

    I restored my (friends) phone using sn0wbreeze with baseband update disabled and it worked straight away.

    The advice in this thread was a massive life saver so huge thanks to all.
     

Share This Page