HELP- broke macbook replacing ram!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by virus1, Jun 4, 2006.

  1. virus1 macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #1
    ok i am really really freaked out right now.. i am afraid i just broke my macbook.

    here is my story. this morn, i decided to see how hard it was to replace a hd in a macbook, so i followed the instructions and successfully removed and replaced the hd. i followed all of the instructions except i didn't let it cool off for half an hour. just like 30 sec. then i successfully started it up, put it to sleep, and left for church.

    then about half an hour ago, i returned, decided to check out replacing the ram. this time i didn't let it cool off at all, because it had been sleeping all this time. i did the same procedure, but as soon as i paid attention to the ram slots, i noticed an inconsistancy with the instructions. the levers that were supposed to push out the ram were on the right side, not the left. i just considered this a small issue, as the diagram inside the battery compartment showed them on the right, with the arrows pointing to push them left. so i pushed them left, and it was really hard to push out, but eventually, the ram protruded just enough for me to grab it.

    then, i checked it out for a sec, and put it back in. i put it in the same direction, with the notch facing the left, which was the same direction the online instructions and the little diagram in the battery bay said. it didn't seem to push all the way in, however, no matter how hard i pushed. then i (exctremely stupidly) did the same with the other ram slot. i eventually figured that that was as far as it would go in. but then when i replaced the ram door cover (the metal L thing with 3 screws) the foam padding stuff refused to shove in all the way, as if the ram wasn't all the way in. i replaced the battery and tried to start it up. nothing came up on the screen, but the sleeping light started blinking in a hard fasion. (not the dimming pattern when asleep). i turned it off by holding down the power button, took out the batterey and the ram cover, tried to push the ram in more, and got the same results as before. i replaced the battery cover, put the battery in, started it up, and this time, the battery sleep light just turned on, at full brightness, and that is what it stayed at. nothing else happened. i assume it needs the ram to start up, and it can't find any.

    fyi, i have the standard non-bto black macbook. purchased on thursday night at the apple store palo alto, and first used on friday. it has an unregistered applecare subscription on it, so i can take it in if they could help me.

    HELP!

    Update: it doesn't gong, but before it goes silent, it makes that hard drive searching sound. (at least i think thats what it is). i just realized that when i press the power button, the screen flashes white, then goes black. it does the same thing off batterey, with the power cord, and with the power cord without the battery.
     
  2. whocares macrumors 65816

    whocares

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    :noitаɔo˩
    #2
    If it ain't broke, don't fix it. ;)


    Sorry, can't think of anything helpful to say. Just take it in and play dumb.
     
  3. virus1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #3
    haha..

    well i was planning on upgrading the ram, but i wanted to make sure it was easy enough to do. obviously it wasn't :eek:
     
  4. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #4
    did you turn the Macbook off when you took the ram out? or did you leave it on standby. If the latter, thats a possible reason as to why.

    Try taking the Ram out again and make sure theres no dust or anything on the connecters. i found that out when i added ram to my computer the first time.
     
  5. Asar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    #5
    the same exact thing happened to me. trust me, your ram ISNT in all the way. push it all the way in, you'll hear it click. once the ram is in your computer will boot up. i thought my macbook was broke and was one minute away from taking it to the mac genius..
     
  6. virus1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #6
    it was off
     
  7. virus1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #7
    let me go try.. ill keep you updated..
     
  8. iHeartTheApple macrumors 6502

    iHeartTheApple

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    Chances are that you haven't seated the ram fully in its slot. When I replaced my RAM, I found that you *really* have to push...hard! Give it another go and see what happens...It's not going to give you an audible click or anything like that. If you push and see that it moves in considerably, you still may not have it in all the way. Give it another good push, applying even pressure on either side of the RAM with two fingers...

    Let me tell you, my fingers were sore for a while after replacing the ram...ouch! :eek:
     
  9. virus1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #9
    thank you all so much! that worked perfectly. once i put actual muscle into it, (which was scary, let me tell you) it went in another 3 milimeters, and made an odd noise. then everything else worked out perfectly.
     
  10. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #10
    Ram is a customer replaceable part. Call apple while you try to do the ram and explain that the instructions are backwards.

    I did this the first time I tried to replace ram on my new Tibook years ago and I had apple on the phone because I was so scared Well. I actually did break the ram clips. They had to replace the whole logic board. But they did it because i was on the phone with them. Either way, this should be an easier situation -- ram should not be inexplicably difficult to change out.

    Call them. Then try to reseat the ram with them on the phone. Any problems, and you are covered.
     
  11. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #11
    Bit late, he got it working. ;) He didn't put enough muscle into it. :p
     
  12. virus1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #12
    the issue was i was afraid to
     
  13. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #13
    I'm afraid I broke my car.

    I wanted to see how easy it was to smash it up, so I ran it into a wall... everything went fine. Then I tried to drive it again, and IT DIDN'T WORK!? What!??!?
     
  14. virus1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #14
    really? did your car manufacturer tell you that crashing it didn't void the warranty? did crashing it somehow make it faster?
    its time for you, cablejonston, to read the tar below
     
  15. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #15
    Well, they don't make 'em like they used to...
     
  16. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #16
    They replaced it because you were on the phone? That is awesome.
     
  17. stefan15 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    RAM is always like that. I remember the first time I put in RAM into my old PC years ago.. you really have to give'er. It's freaky, but you do have to put alot of (even) pressure on the module to get it in.
     
  18. twalkabout macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #18
    been there

    yeah, i can confirm that replacing the ram on the macbook is not as easy as it would seem. went to the apple store to have them do it, but genius bar was booked till closing. borrowed their screwdriver and tried to do it there, and the genius took pity on me and came over to help out after i was trying to put the metal piece back on (which is difficult due to the foam), and he said 'hang on' let me make sure it's in. lo and behold, you definitely have to push it in much more than i did.

    should have learned my lesson from the first g4 powerbook, i broke the little plastic clip when i was trying to install memory, and also had to have the logic board replaced. fortunately that $900 repair was covered by my credit card company which covers theft and accidental damage for 90 days (up to $1000).

    good times.

    still planning to install another 1 gb on my macbook pro when it gets here. here's hoping 3rd time is the charm...
     
  19. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #19
    Yes. They replaced the logic board because I was on the phone, and it was under warranty and I was audibly frightened to death. It was really the first time I had opened up a computer.

    The only trouble I've had with ram since is I bought some ram for one of my iBooks and, I think it was Infineon brand (?) which I heard sometimes Apple uses oem.

    Well, this ram chip was literally too fat for the holders. It would NOT slide in. And I was not afraid to push. I almost broke the logic board on that machine -- had to return the ram. Owner said Apple is picky about ram, got a refund. Glad I didn't break the machine, tho. It really was fat ram!
     
  20. neocell macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #20
    Here's a link to the video of taking out the RAM and HD, just in case anyone wants to see how "firmly" you need to apply pressure.
     
  21. diamondg14 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    #21
    Looks like I am in the same position:(.

    I am very worried right now, I just recently received my brand new macbook 2 ghz with the standard 512mb Ram. I last night replaced the Ram with 2 1-GB sticks of ram and it seemed a little tougher than most were making it seem but I booted up and all seemed fine. I then after about 10 minutes of use kept getting spinning beach ball syndrome and had to relaunch finder a few times and restart. After a couple restarts it was not working right so I tried re-inserting the RAM and re-booting and I am now at a point where I cannot get the Macbook to start-up. Nothing, no chime, not blue screen just nothing. Please help! What have I done.

    I am really pretty sure that the Ram is in all the way, I have really really put some pressure on it to make sure it was tight. I have re-tried the original ram and the 1 Gig sticks. Does anyone have any other hints/ideas.
     
  22. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #22
    I upgraded mine just fine. HD and Ram but now one of those levers won't pop out. Its like the spring is busted. Stupid design if you ask me.
     
  23. diamondg14 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    #23
    A couply other notes, I am not hearing a click when I push the ram in, but I assure you I am very firmly pushing the ram in. Also does anybody have a link to the macworld video that actually works.
     
  24. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #24
    diamondg14: I'd say there's a 75% chance you just don't have it all the way in. It takes a frightening amount of pressure--AT THE RIGHT ANGLE--to get RAM seated in any laptop (desktops are almost as bad). If you follow the instructions in the manual and start at like a 25 degree angle then push down and in until it's sitting flat, at that point you REALLY need to give it a good even push straight inward to get it all the way into the slot.

    I've found that (if you can reach) putting both thumbs on the corners of the RAM while grabbing your fingers around the edge of the computer and squeezing (very hard) is the best way to get enough even pressure to get it to seat. You can generally feel it when it goes all the way in.

    If both sticks really are seated properly and it still won't boot, either you got some bum RAM from wherever you bought it (try putting the original back in and see if it works), or you didn't properly discharge the static on your body while installing it and fried the motherboard. That would suck, but probably would have been an outright failure rather than the slow death you saw.
     
  25. uchuff macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    #25
    Mine didn't click either, I just pushed the RAM in fairly firmly (as firmly as it usually takes to push RAM in from previous PC building experience) and I noticed the new RAM module wasn't in far enough as it visibly didn't line up with the existing RAM in the next bay - pushing a bit harder did it.

    The Youtube video above works for me but originally I watched the OWC video here.
     

Share This Page