Help, Buying MacBook; Need SECURE Wireless Access

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rohopish, Aug 15, 2006.

1. rohopish macrumors member

Jan 12, 2006
    Alright, I'm going to try to be as clear and concise as possible:

I am purchasing a MacBook for school at the beginning of September. Seeing as it is a notebook computer, I wish to use wireless internet access. There is a cable modem hooked up to my Mac Mini. I believe I can use the Mini as a wireless access point for my new MacBook. These are my questions:

How exactly do I set up Airport to share my Mini's internet connection wirelessly, and most importantly, with some-kind of password to access it (I don't want to be responsible for the irresponsibility of others that could tap into my wireless internet connection)?

And if possible, how exactly (step-by-step if possible, I'm not experienced with Networking, etc.) to set up my printer so that it can receive prints from my MacBook wirelessly? It is connected through USB to my Mac Mini.

Thanks so much to everyone who can give me whatever help possible. I know this is a quite repetitive question here, but even though info is available for setting up "Internet Sharing," I cannot find a thread on how exactly (step-by-step) to password protect it; sharing my printer is also a priority.

2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

Jan 9, 2004
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    Let me start ... I might not finish what you want answered, though. ;)