HELP! Cant change the volume on my macbook (Screenshot)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ljump12, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    philadelphia
    #1
    [​IMG]

    Happens both when i have something plugged into the headphone jack, and when i don't. Restarting did not seem to help.

    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #2
    I would first try zapping the PRAM and resetting the NVRAM. That usually fixes problems like these when I get them.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Location:
    philadelphia
    #3
    How.. Thanks!
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Here's how to reset the PRAM and NVRAM. :)
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #5
    i have the same problem, but when i reset the pram and nvram i still get the blocked volume icon. what else can i do?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Thiol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #6
    Do two tests:
    1) Look in your headphone jack and check to see if there is a red light.
    2) Check the sound system preference panel and see if sound is being output to "digital out" instead of "internal speakers."

    If the answer to both is yes, then the computer is trying to output to the jack because it thinks there is something there (hence the red light). This is a decently documented problem (both here and on google). The problem tends to recur when you put something in the jack and take it out, but the computer doesn't realize that you've removed the peripheral. The solution either involves sending the thing back to Apple or poking around the headphone jack until you flip the detector and turn the red light off.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #7
    that is what happened to me. I took it to apple lol. it was really weird though. great info
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    ArtfulDodger

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Location:
    Bradford, UK
    #8
    Lol I was having this problem today for about half an hour I was troubleshooting it and trying to solve the problem. I saw this thread and it said check for a red light near the headphone place and then guess what...?

    My headphones weren't plugged in properly lolz.

    Also I realize I bumped up an old topic lol.

    Thanks guys. :D
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #9
    same problem

    hi i have the same problem with my macbook air, except I don't have any red light, the headphone thing didn't work and resetting the PRAM didn't work either. Happened about 2 weeks ago but then it was fine after a week and now once again after about a week it has started doing the exact same thing. I looked at the system preferences and checked my output device but none are showing. There are no output devices available and I cannot seem to install one.
    Can anyone help?
    One love
     

Share This Page