Help -- can't mount AFP! Do you have 1.0 and SSH?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by rogersmj, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #1
    I'm getting desperate tonight with my new ATV...the hacking has not gone smoothly. However, all is now well except for one huge problem...I can't get to any of my media files because Apple removed afp_mount in 1.1, and this thing came with 1.1 installed so I can't go back to 1.0! All I need is the /sbin/mount_afp file from an Apple TV 1.0 or a machine running OS X 10.4.7-10.4.9 (10.4.10 will supposedly not work). The combo updates on Apple's downloads web site are mysteriously missing that file.

    Can anyone with SSH and an ATV 1.0 nab that file and send it to me? This is killing me! rogersmj [ at ] gmail.com. Thank you!
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #2
    Hacking....

    I think your best best if the Apple TV hacks site. http://www.appletvhacks.net/ As soon as you start hacking you are pretty much on your own and have to rely on fellow hackers. Personally I think the Apple TV is simply not worth the effort as the few hack available don't really allow for much. If anyone ever provides a hack for surround sound I'll be voiding my warranty in 2 seconds flat.

    Good luck.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #3
    If I didn't hack it, it would be worthless to me. I need it to

    1. Connect to my file server
    2. Play any codec it comes across.

    ...two things it can't do without being hacked. I actually have it working now with Samba, but I'd much rather do AFP because of the better performance. I'm just going to have to continue to try and rustle up the mount_afp binary from someone.

    Anyone? :D
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #4
    Really?: http://trac.cod3r.com/a52codec/

    And a better site for hacking is the awkwardtv site:
    http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Index.html
    http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Category:Plugins

    Some cool plugins to play with right away are ATVFiles, NitoTV and Sapphire (new killer version coming any day now).

    And as far as getting AFP going I messed around with that for awhile and was never successful. In the meantime I heard SMB was better and faster anyways and just ended up going that route. There's info on the wiki on how to get this going along with the plugins and how to Patchstick your ATV.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #5
    I have a 1.1 ATv too. I'd love to get Perian and AwkwardTV on it asap. It seems there is no patchstick's for 1.1 yet?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #6
    Did it ship from the factory as 1.1 or did you upgrade to 1.1? If you upgraded then you should be able to restore to 1.0, hack it and then upgrade again to the YouTube version (1.1). Here an excellent step-by-step:

    http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Beginners_Guide

    If you're at a factory 1.1 then I'm not sure...
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #7

    Factory. I just bought it this past weekend.

    Also I had no luck creating the patchstick (when I was in tiger), it kept making /Volumes/Patchstick-root as a directory, not copying files to the USB drive. If I renamed my USB drive TO patchstick-root it wrote to it, but I'm not so sure it would have worked anyway
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #8
    Yep, the Awkward Wiki is the best. And I too am eagerly awaiting the new Sapphire.

    :eek: Uh, no. Just no. :) SMB is much, much slower than AFP. I just switched my primary sharing method on my home network to AFP after using SMB for nearly a decade...AFP beats the crap out of SMB in speed (in both connection latencies [that's the biggest diff] and raw transfer performance) and in features (AFP allows UNIX filenames, real permissions...SMB doesn't allow either of those things). I do have SMB working on my Apple TV now, and it's OK, but I notice the lag when it's loading directory lists. I'd much rather have AFP...I know how to set it up, I just need the right binary.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #9
    mrogers how did you get SMB to work on your ATV 1.1?

    I just got SSH working.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #10
  11. macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #11
  12. macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #12
    Hrmm, alright well I've gotten samba and awkward tv, sapphire and nitoTV loaded (no idea why nitoTV is loaded since ATVFiles loads my files? hrm).

    I can't get my samba share to mount on reboot.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #13
    You get anywhere with this mrogers? I know you were looking for mount_afp
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #14
    is this what I think it is???

     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #15
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #16
    Yooo tha Man!!!!!!!

     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #17
    A mount_afp from a full 10.4.10 install will work with the aTV. I've hacked two 1.1 Factory aTVs using it.

    (The patchstick will also work)

    Though I am getting closer & closer to just installing OS X full on the aTV.
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #18

    Interesting. can you pull mount_afp and the /System/Library/AppleShare/ off a 10.4.10 restore disc very easily? Or out of the 10.4.10 combo updater? (it's missing from the 10.4.9 combo pack)

    And (with recent experience), the patchstick only PARTIALLY works. It tosses up sshd and Perian, but not awkwardtv.

    The 1.1 update also breaks a number of installers in nitoTV, namely the smart installer, perian and the kext enabler.
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #19
    Well I got afp working. This is good. Now I want to figure out what's wrong with my sharing.
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #20
    I got my AirDisk back by hooking it to my XP Machine with Macdrive7, renaming the drive from it's original name to something else and telling Macdrive 7 to repair the disk.

    I can now see it from my base station again on my iMac through finder.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #21
    Someone was kind enough to send me the mount_afp from their Apple TV, but it's not working for me. I get some worthless four-digit flag errors when I attempt to mount a share. I need to do some more digging, but I wonder if the 1.0 file won't work with 1.1? Mindflux, how did you get AFP working?
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #22

    Rogers,

    I get the flag errors too but stuff mounts.

    use this format

    mount_afp "afp://user:code@where/Share" /Volumes/whatever

    You also have /System/Library/Filesystems/AppleShare also, right?

    I followed a guide on AwkwardTV to give it the right permissions and also symlink afpfs.kext where it needs to be.

    http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Mount_a_Remote_Drive_via_AFP_under_1.1
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #23
    Awesome, I had followed that tutorial but I wasn't using that particular format. Thanks! It works now.
     
  24. macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #24
    Yeah I just got flag errors with no mount before I tacked on the afp:// before the username.

    I now use nitTV to automount my share on bootup. :) Works well.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Cybix

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Western Australia
    #25
    I have a 1.1 ATV (from factory) and it's doing just about everything now.

    the patchstick worked on it perfectly, it enabled SSH, installed perian and also installed the awkwardtv menu.

    from the awkwardtv menu I installed nitoTV (awesome) and a bunch of other apps.

    I enabled mount_afp using my "tiger" MBP before I upgraded to Leopard. So i could mount network volumes (using nitoTV) then play my content back using either ATVFiles (my fave), or nitoTV.

    the newer nitoTV comes with enablers for turbo's usb mod, and various other things. This worked perfectly on my 1.1 ATV (with my MBP running Tiger and on the network at the time). nitoTV literally found my MBP, asked for credentials, went in, grabbed the files it needed and did it's thing.

    now my 1.1 ATV plays content off an external 500GB hdd (which I prefer), has all my codecs, runs firefox, skype, all kinds of stuff. it's very useful.

    There's ONE thing the 1.1 ATV will not do, and that is run the AFP daemon so I can drag/drop files to it from one of my mac's. I still have to use Fugu, or whatever SCP/SFTP app to copy files to it. I usually just unplug the 500GB hdd from the ATV and plug it into my MBP when I want to update movies, etc. Faster that way!

    I have a fair bit of info in my blog (in my sig... invertedreality.com)

    fun stuff! dont pull your hair out!
     

Share This Page