HELP! Changed password and now am locked out!

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by powerofthekiwi, Nov 17, 2004.

  1. powerofthekiwi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    #1
    Ok - before I get flamed - I know what I'm doing on my Pbook and have been working on macs for 10 years, I am however stumped...

    Yesterday I switched my password; went to accounts, typed in my current, typed in a new, and typed in the new password again. When I closed my Pbook and opened it again I was prompted by my login (it is set up to ask for a password when woken from sleep or from startup - I'm careful :p ). When I typed in the new password it did not work. I have tryed my old password, any other password I might have used, doing it with the caps lock on, and everthing else I could possibly think of. When I restart I am prompted by the login. My comp has locked me out!

    I'm sure I didn't type in the wrong password twice, and nothing seems to be working. What can I do to get back into my pBook - this is really important!

    set up in sig - running 10.3.6? (maybe .5, its the newest version I just forgot where we are!)
     
  2. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #2
    obviously, the first order of business is to try, really, really hard to remember the password...

    failing that, i'd at least recover the HD contents by using target disk mode. it will override any and all permissions/passwords. of course, you'll need another panther-enabled mac...

    after that, i'd call apple. even if there's a way to override the password, i am not sure if i'd want something like that posted at MR - i mean, then whoever reads this post will be able to break into any Macs, no?
     
  3. powerofthekiwi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    #3
    Yeah good point - I do have another mac that I can transfer my files to, but that is away from school... Jeez I'm really not gonna looking forward to clearing my HD but it looks like that might be the case...

    :mad: :mad: :mad: DAMN! :mad: :mad: :mad:
     
  4. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #4
    do try calling apple. i'm fairly certain there's a way around this, especially since it doesn't sound like this is a root account/password and you didn't use filevault...
     
  5. WCat macrumors member

    WCat

    #5
    Easy. Just boot from your original install OS X CD (hold down the "C" key while booting with the CD in the drive). When you get to the first install screen, look for the menu item in the upper left corner you can pull down. One of the selections is to reset your password. No need to go further in the install process after that, just reboot without the cd and use your new password.

    Cheers,

    WCat
     
  6. powerofthekiwi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    #6
    ah jeez! I figured it out and was hurrying here to get credit and someone beat me to the punch...

    Got it fixed! Thanks guys! One note - if you need to do this. It reset my password, but not my keychain password. I had to delete my old keychain and make a new one, so just so you know you'll lose your passwords (ironic huh?) and nothing else

    ty for the help guys
     
  7. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #7
    can't believe i missed that. good work. i'm glad it worked out...
     
  8. JiGGm macrumors newbie

    JiGGm

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    #8
    when pressing c at boot with disk in, how long does it take to get to the setup menu? Because mine looks like it hangs at the white screen with the apple. it flicks and the apple screen re-appears but the apple image is fragmented in the upper left hand corner.
     
  9. timnosenzo macrumors 6502a

    timnosenzo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    ct, us
    #9
    It takes a while to boot up--it has to load everything from the CD-ROM. It also depends on how fast your system is.
     
  10. JiGGm macrumors newbie

    JiGGm

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    #10
    its a imac G5 with 512 mb ram and a 1.8 ghz processor
     
  11. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #11
    If it takes more than 10 minutes, you have issues. It can take around 5, but it depends...

    And you can reset a Keychain password too, BTW. There is an option to do that, I forget where... it is there, though. I know it.
     
  12. JiGGm macrumors newbie

    JiGGm

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    #12
    well, something isnt right then ;(
    Its been on for a half hour. We might try using someone else's disc, that might work. ionno.
     

Share This Page