HELP: Changed screenshot format, now i got nothing!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by agentphish, Sep 21, 2006.

  1. agentphish macrumors 65816

    agentphish

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    #1
    using this hint: http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20050627224051361&query=change+screenshot+format

    I changed my screenshot format to jpg. I had done this once before but decided to switch back to png... But I've decided that jpg's are better for my current situation.

    Anyhow, I did the kill systemuiserver part as well, and now when i take a screenshot, I hear the little camera shutter sound, but the files do not appear on my desktop. I have NO idea if screenshots are still working at all or if the files are being stored elsewhere or what. I've logged out and back in. I've restarted, and still no luck. NO SCREENSHOTS.

    Anyone got a suggestion?

    Thanks
     
  2. KD7IWP macrumors 6502a

    KD7IWP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    American living in Canada
    #2
    This is just me, but I've never had screenshots appear on the desktop. Are you used to an actual image file appearing on there? For me, it just copies the photo to the clipboard and I can paste it into any application. Did you try that?
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    If you press CONTROL during the normal screenshot key sequence, it'll copy to the Clipboard instead of create a file, like KD7IWP said. Maybe check your Clipboard (Edit menu in Finder). :)
     
  4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    Try a Spotlight search for "Picture 1" or "Picture 2" to see if you can find where the files are going. In order to make changing file formats simpler, you can use something like TinkerTool...maybe switching the options in there will help reset things to a usable state for you. It's a great program to have for tweaking things anyway.
     
  5. agentphish thread starter macrumors 65816

    agentphish

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    #5
    KD7IWP & Mad Jew-

    I am talking about an actual PNG or JPG file titled "Picture 1" "Picture 2" etc, appearing on the desktop. This is how screenshots work on the mac if you use APPLE + SHIFT + 4 and then use the crosshairs to select what you want to screenshot.

    WILDCOWBOY-

    I will try tinkertool. I forgot I even already have it installed!
     
  6. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #6
    Sorry, I just got a chuckle from someone telling mad jew how to take a screenshot. I'm pretty sure he knows what's going on. As he said, if you also hold down control at the same time, you copy to the clipboard rather than the desktop.

    This is also how screenshots work "on the mac". :)
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Aaaand, if you're not consciously holding down CONTROL, then do you have any key changers? :)
     

Share This Page