Help desired! Please! [buying laptop]

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by carbonmotion, Jan 28, 2004.

1. carbonmotion macrumors 6502a

carbonmotion

Hi,
    I need help on picking a new laptop. I am a student at the University of Michigan (Go Wolverines!) and for the past year I've been using my iBook G3 800Mhz with 640 mb of RAM. Although the machine has respectable performance and really good battery life... I find that performance is taxed to the brink when I start power using alotta apps in conjunction. Also, I hate the keyboard and the LCD view angle limitation is annoying. I'm considering either powerbooks or compaqs as replacement (just kidding, no compaqs, scared ya didnt I ) however, I can seem to choose. I want a 1GHZ 12 inch because it seems I'm too poor for a 15 inch (and it wont fit in my GAP messanger bag and I'm too cheap to shell out 80 to buy a wide powerbook certified messanger bag) , however having read some online reviews, I am having serious doubts. I have two major questions:

A) A few websites reviewing the 867 12" said that the performaces was crap and that it ran really hot. They also said the LCD was the same crappy limited angle LCD used on iBooks! If that is still the case with the 1Ghz, I will be really worried.

B) Given a option of picking ...which of the following config would be better for me?

config 1)
    • 1GHz PowerPC G4
    • 256MB DDR266 (256MB built-in)
    • 80GB Ultra ATA drive @ 4200rpm
    • Combo Drive (DVD-ROM/CD-RW)
    • AirPort Extreme Card
    • Keyboard/Mac OS - U.S. English
    • 12.1-inch TFT Display
    $1601
    config 2)
    • 1GHz PowerPC G4
    • 256MB DDR266 (256MB built-in)
    • 40GB Ultra ATA drive @ 4200rpm
    • SuperDrive (DVD-R/CD-RW)
    • No Airport
    • Keyboard/Mac OS - U.S. English
    • 12.1-inch TFT Display
    $1599