HELP!:Do I Need 2 GB of RAM and 256 MB Video???

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by rlnhrt, Nov 9, 2006.

1. rlnhrt macrumors newbie

Hi, I'm going to buy a new Mac, but I need some advice…

I need a computer for:
    - Graphic Design (intensive use of Photoshop, Illustrator, Indesign, and sometimes ImageReady, Flash and Dreamweaver)
    - 3D modeling and rendering, and video editing (I'm just beginning, but I plan to do it professionally in the future)

My options are (all Core2Duo):
    - refurbished iMac 20" (1 GB RAM, 128 MB Video)
    - customized iMac 20" (2 GB RAM, 256 MB Video)
    - MacBook Pro 15.4" (2 GB RAM, 256 MB Video)
    - MacBook Pro 17" (2 GB RAM, 256 MB Video)

I dont' have the money for a MacPro and a Display.

The refurbished iMac would be much cheaper than the other options (even if I wait for the refurbished MacBooks) but i fear that it might not have enough RAM and Video memory for what I need.

I know I can upgrade the RAM later, the problem with the iMac is that it comes with 2x512 MB instead of 1x1 GB.

So basically, I have 3 questions:
    1- How much difference does it make to have 256 MB of video instead of 128?
    2- Is 1 GB RAM and 128 MB Video enough for what I need to do, or not?
    3- What would you do?

2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

CanadaRAM

1 Gb RAM is definitely not enough.
    256 Mb VRAM won't make any difference to DTP/Graphics programs.

I'l let someone else speak to the VRAM and modelling/rendering.

3. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

Well, do you need portability? And there will be a few benifits to 256MB or VRAM like it being less underclocked, double the VRAM and things like that. It depends on your budget, since you have a 17" MBP in the options list, then you should probably go for the 256MB VRAM iMac. But whatever you do, make sure that you get 2GB or more of RAM.

4. glib macrumors member