Help: Dual 3.0GHz + 3GB RAM -or- Dual 2.66GHz + 5GB RAM (ordering tonight)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rob5, Nov 4, 2006.

  1. rob5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #1
    I'm ready to order a system here and am having a hard time choosing between the following combos:

    (1)
    Dual 2.66GHz
    5GB RAM
    1 x 150GB 10K RPM (Raptor)
    1 x 500GB 7200 RPM (WD5000YS)
    1 x 250GB 7200RPM (stock)
    1 x ATI X1900 XT 512MB
    Bluetooth 2.0+EDR and AirPort Extreme

    (2)
    Dual 3.0GHz
    3GB RAM
    1 x 150GB 10K RPM (Raptor)
    1 x 500GB 7200 RPM (WD5000YS)
    1 x 160GB 7200 RPM (stock)
    1 x NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB
    Bluetooth 2.0+EDR and AirPort Extreme

    I'd be downgrading the stock 250GB drive and video card for the 3GHz. Is there really a big difference between 2.66GHz and 3.0GHz that would be noticable? Would the extra 2GB RAM make up for it in the dual 2.66GHz? I do a lot of resource intensive work (multiple copies of Parallels running, for example). Which setup would you go with?
     
  2. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #2
    Option 1 seems the most logical, I don't know why you need so much RAM but 2GB and a X1900XT is worth a LOT more than .33 GHz.

    I do suggest you get 4GB in 4x1GB configuration for quad channel.
     
  3. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
  4. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #4
    id definatly go with more ram and better graphics card. go for option one.
     
  5. rob5 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #5
    It would be 4x1GB along with the stock 2x512MB memory (6 sticks total). How would you set this up to take advantage of quad channel?
     
  6. thugpoet22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    Man what a choice. I think more ram would suit you better. I think its better to have 2 more gigs of ram then 400 mhz of processing power. But im also thinking that it might be best to get an even number of ram like 6 gigs or even 4 gigs. I think you would get better performance if the memory is dual channel. But what ever way you configure it, that machine is going to be a sick puppy.
     
  7. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #7

    You can't. You would have to add two more 512's to that.
    Quad channel requires an identical configuration on both of the memory Risers.
     
  8. rob5 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #8
    I think I am going to go with Dual 2.66GHz and 4GB (4x1GB) then for quad channel. If I don't plan on gaming, is there any advantage in getting a X1900 over the 7300GT? I notice Apple's store says selecting the X1900 can delay shipment as well.
     
  9. dkoralek macrumors 6502

    dkoralek

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #9
    RAM is certainly better than the extra processing speed (especially at the premium that Apple charges for the processor upgrade, comparing price to performance gain). If you really need the RAM and don't need the extra gfx processing of the x1900xt, why don't you go for 4 x 512 and 4 x 1 gig in the ram? that way you could go 2 x 512 and 2 x 1 gig on each riser and get the most out of the quad channel for the ram?

    cheers.
     
  10. ironjaw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Cold Copenhagen
    #10
    check this out http://peloche.smugmug.com/photos/91752872-O.jpg

    it gives the best maximum advantage for stocking RAM
     
  11. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #11
    Well you have 2 options, ordering your Mac Pro configured with 4x1GB for 1099$ or you can order it with just 1GB, sell the DIMMs that come with your Mac Pro (on ebay or something) and get 4x1GB of 3rd party ram (tons of saving and no quality compromise) which will run you around 700$, you can sell the 2x512mb EASILY for around 200$, so thats means a sweet 599$ saving in memory alone.

    Worth considering but I do suggest that you get 4 DIMMs, no more no less in any configuration you desire to take advantage of quad channel.
     
  12. kellen macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    Wish I had to make those kind of choices.

    In my cheap view, try getting the refurb. if those mhz really matter to you For 3299 you get:

    Refurbished Mac Pro Quad 3.0GHz Intel Xeon
    Two 3.0GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon processors
    2GB (4 x 512MB) memory (667MHz DDR2 fully-buffered DIMM ECC)
    250GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s 7200-rpm hard drive
    16x SuperDrive (double-layer)
    ATI Radeon X1900 XT graphics with 512MB memory

    and they are in stock, shipping in 3-5 business days.

    You could buy memory like said above to save money and I know people have said that buying harddrives retail is cheaper than apple.

    My two cents (and your 5,000 dollars). Either way, good luck!
     
  13. ironjaw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Cold Copenhagen
    #13
    This is what i will do I would buy the 4x1gb dimms third party and use the 2x512 as well as shown on 5B in the jpeg I posted to have a total of 5GB RAM. That's the optimal setting. By the way I doubt he will get much for the 2x512 on ebay as loads of people are selling them, better to keep them for that rainy day (Apple Care)

    You are getting Apple Care, right?
     
  14. PowerMike G5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #14
    Hey Rob5,

    I sent you a PM regarding this.

    Thanks,

    Mike
     
  15. SMM macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #15
    I am glad Transeau and you just posted that. I was about to screw-up. I knew the banks had to be even, but I was going to put (2) 1GB and (1) 512 MB in each bank (riser). Drat, but thanks!
     
  16. ironjaw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Cold Copenhagen
    #16
    well really you should thank the people over at Apple Discussions especially "peloche". I remember back when the discussions began - there were so many problems with the mac pro - software of course well there is still the problem with the BT keyboard and mouse and Airport I guess.:(
     
  17. Neonguy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    #17
    Eithor option, you are one RICH DUDE! It already look like 5 - 6K Machine to me already. However having the Dual 3.0Ghz with the ATI Graphic card is like a dream machine. It will last you a lot longer and better resale value in the future. I heard people returning and selling the 2.6Ghz one because they want the absolute best. If I have this kind of money I would consider getting the 3.0Ghz, that way you know you have a max out machine and you can alway go back and get more Ram or the ATI Card later on.
     
  18. scottlinux macrumors 6502a

    scottlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
  19. adamfilip macrumors 6502a

    adamfilip

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    burlington, Ontario canada
    #19
    I had a similar problem
    trying to choose between a 2.6 wit 4gb or a 3.0 with 2gb
    I went with the 2.6 with 4gb
    each machine would have the ati x 1900

    Im a heavy multitasker and i would rather my machine keep moving cause it has more memory, then grind to a halt faster cause it has a faster CPU
     
  20. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    I think for what you want to do this guy is correct. Though if you aren't a gamer the X1900 is probably a waste, the RAM is certainly worthwhile over the Processor as Parallels eats RAM.
     
  21. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #21
    2.66 mac pro has a noticeable benchmarking increase over the 2ghz model.

    The 3ghz mac pro has a less noticeable advantage benchmark wise oer the 2.66ghz model.

    Best bang for buck /cpu only is defiently the 2.66 model

    Add extra ram and X1900 and you have a killer mac.

    I would however suggest you get maybe just 3gb ram initially and work with it for a while and keep an eye on your activity monitor and see if your paging is kept in check like 45001/0 If so then you have no need for the extra 2gb and it wont be an advantage to you. Should you find paging increasing then go ahead and get the memory.
     
  22. Silentwave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #22
    I think the X1900 is the best idea for most people- as we've seen Leopard and future releases will be depending more and more on the GPU, and many professional programs are becoming GPU dependent (e.g. Aperture)
     
  23. PowerMike G5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #23
    Hey ... can you explain what paging basically means? What is a good number range for it ...
     
  24. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #24
    Paging is when the OS inserts memory from the RAM to the HD aka. virtual memory. It pages the memory that is not likely used in there to free up more RAM for more urgent tasks. When you have high page outs (reading from HD) it's because you're lacking RAM, thus making the system taking advantage of the slower virtual memory.

    My iBook g4 with 512 has for instance 13000/10000 pageins/outs which is not very good... I basically always have 2/3 of pageouts, so I need more memory.
     
  25. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #25
    here is an example of having enough memory..
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page