HELP! ethernet problem

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Raidersmojo, Jul 19, 2005.

  1. Raidersmojo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    Burton michigan
    #1
    hey everyone, recently just had a thunderstorm and when the power booted back on my iMac has not been able to connect to the internet via the cable modem. the ibook which I'm on right now is on the same network and it runs fine and its detecting the ethernet connection (its showing its green) but on the imac it said my system preferences had been changed and it only shows an airport and normal modem connection, no ethernet at all.

    anyone have any ideas? I've been trouble shooting it for an hour trying to get it to work, I sure hope my ethernet didn't somehow get fried. it won't detect anything no matter what I try. anyone have some suggestions
     
  2. Sedulous macrumors 68000

    Sedulous

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    #2
    If you go to System Profiler, does the ethernet card show up?
     
  3. DarkNetworks macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #3
    Is it still under warranty? If yes, bring it back to the store...
     
  4. Raidersmojo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    Burton michigan
    #4
    I'm not sure if its still under warrantey or not, its an 800mhz G4 iMac. I've had it for almost five years I think. not sure if the warrntey is good or not (recently been looking for a powerbook for college, but have been waiting for an upgrade)

    I checked the system profiler and it showed built in ethernet under the automatic setting (which is the same on this computer I'm sure we all know this)

    my xbox and PS2 also can no longer connect to the internet as well, the PS2 was NOT connected to the internet at that time and both my mac, xbox, and ps2 are connected to a surge protector (two different ones I might add) while this ibook is not.

    on this it shows the built in ethernet under the system profile. it doesn't on the imac, any suggestions??????
     
  5. redAPPLE macrumors 68030

    redAPPLE

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Location:
    2 Much Infinite Loops
    #5
    try connecting the iMac to another place (e.g. a friend's) and see if it still does not work.
     
  6. DarkNetworks macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #6
    "my xbox and PS2 also can no longer connect to the internet as well, the PS2 was NOT connected to the internet at that time and both my mac, xbox, and ps2 are connected to a surge protector (two different ones I might add) while this ibook is not."

    Remove or replace the surge protector and see if it works...

    Or worst comes to worst, bring ur iMac, to the local store and ask them to check if there's any problem with it. If there isn't any problem, then ask ur local ISP to send someone to come over and check it out...
     
  7. fuzzai macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    if your xbox or ps2 also can't connect

    If your running a router, check to see how many IP Leases your letting out.

    never know maybe the router was set back to default and if it only allows 1 ip, your ibook has it, the lease will be 1 week, there for nothing else will connect.

    IF this is the problem, in your router's settings change it to 5 lets say..


    -------------- your not connecting your cable modem right to the computer or xbox are you? If you are using a router try connecting the cable modem right to your imac and see if it connects...
     
  8. Raidersmojo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    Burton michigan
    #8
    didwhat you guys said

    took the ibook and plugged it into the Xbox, and iMac slots. it had internet working just fine! I have to try turning the box's on and off. we just spent 150 bucks on a monster box just for this occasion.

    hopefully you guys are right about it in fact I'm going to run and try it real quick


    update

    it didn't work......this sucks

    I've tried almost everything in the world. I don't understand how it could knock out my PS2 when the net wasn't even connected at that time. the ibook works on everything while those 3 systems aren't doing squat
     
  9. XNine macrumors 68040

    XNine

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?
    #9
    What kind of router do you have?

    It may only be passing one IP through at a time, especially if it's a Linksys or a SMC. They are so succeptable to lightning it's unbelievable. I went through one router of each in a 8 month period, because of the same thing. Disconnect ALL devices, plug ONE in, power cycle the modem, and see if it connects. Then do it again with another device. And then another. USE THE SAME PORT EACH TIME. It's possible your router is fried, so if you can connect each of these one by one and they all get on the net, and then try connecting all of them and only one or none of them get on the net, then it means the router is only assigning one IP address and that one ONLY. This means yu have to buy a new router. I'd go with a Netgear. I bought one 4 months ago, easy to se tup (even wirelessly) and no probs as of yet.
     

Share This Page