HELP! Firefox is sucking, should I use SAFARI?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jason2811, Dec 2, 2006.

  1. jason2811 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    #1
    Okay I have used Firefox since the day I bought my back about 7 months ago. I even used Firefox back when I had windows. But as I recently I've been noticing a lot of problems with Firefox when I browse the web. Can someone tell me why these problems are happening?
    1) Sometimes with Firefox websites don't full load (as you can down below). And the websites are all messed up as you can see. This happens a lot. I have 2GB of RAM so I don't know if it has to do with my computer or what.

    2) Sometimes when I click on links, nothing happens at all. Firefox will stay on the same page and at the bottom it will say "Done" even though it hasn't gone to the new page.

    3) I'm considering switching to Safari. But I have two questions about Safari that I can't find:
    a) How do I make Safari open links in new tabs rather than in a new window? I looked all over preferences but couldn't find this specifcially. I know this is default on the new FF 2.0 and I want Safari to work the same way.

    b) Is there any way/ add-on for Safari that is similiar to the Thumbs add-on for FF? The thumbs add-on shows the first thumbnail from each linked gallery on a page. You can see it here. http://www.squarefree.com/extensions/thumbs/ ( No I don't use it for porn I use it for graffiti images. Is there any way I can do this in Safari? Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Kobushi macrumors 6502a

    Kobushi

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    Right behind you.
    #2
    3)a) Just make sure you've checked all the boxes under preferences-->tabbed browsing

    When you want to open a site in a new tab, press cmd before you click it.

    3.b. I don't think so.
     
  3. jason2811 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    #3
    thanks but that didn't work. is there anyway to do it without pressing cmd? like in FF if i click on that thumbs link above it will open in a new tab. but if I click on that thumbs link above in safari it opens in a new window. how do i make safari open new links in a tab rather than in a new window like in on FF?
     
  4. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #4
    there is a software called saft can make safari open new tab as default w/o pressing cmd, buts its not free, u need to pay for it

    for your firefox's problem, please
    1. clear all the caches and cookies and try again
    if problem persist
    2. delete your profile in library folder, (back up your bookmark and password first, and you will need to re-install all your extensions and themes)
     
  5. jahdio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #5
    have you tried installing the optimized versions of firefox called BonEcho?
    It runs quick on my macbook.
     
  6. jjs1138 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #6
    SafariStand will allow Safari to do that (plus a few other nice things) and its free!

    http://hetima.com/safari/stand-e.html
     
  7. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
  8. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #8
    Or you can just middle-click on links in Safari to open them in tabs, which saves on having to install anything.

    --Eric
     
  9. topgun072003 macrumors 6502

    topgun072003

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    Switchers tend to have a strong tendency to go straight to FF without giving Safari a try...its actually pretty good. Try it out. To get it to open to tabs when you click...go to Safari preferences and enable tabbed browsing. Then you just have to command click anything you want to open in a new tab. A general new tab command is ?T
     
  10. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #10
    when I bought my MB 5 month ago
    the first thing I faced was which browser to use. I was hoping safari and camino can replace fx for me. I did give them chances........but I jut can't stay without extensions. lol
     

Share This Page