Help! half of memory no longer recognised :(

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Wagamuffin, Apr 29, 2005.

  1. Wagamuffin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #1
    Hi guys! I had bought a G4 powerbook some time ago, with 512mb. Recently, however, when I turn on system profiler or even click "about this mac", it says that only 256 mb ram are available (one of the 2 slots is apparently empty). Anyone know how this could have happened and how I could get my mac to recognise the old memory again :S. Thank you!!!
     
  2. shambolic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    #2
    Let me guess - it's the lower slot, right?

    There's another recent thread about this issue. You'll almost certainly need a new logic board, unfortunately.

    I have the same issue and I'm holding onto my machine for now, though having 1GB in the remaining operational memory slot doesn't hurt..
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    One of three things: You have a bad RAM Module, or a bad RAM socket or one of the modules is not seated correctly in the socket.

    There is another thread here about RAM sockets going bad after the install of 10.3.9. Have you recently upgraded?

    You can use Apple System Profiler to show you which socket is reading how much RAM> Write this down. Let's call the working socket "A" and the one not working "B"

    Now open your machine, and swap the ram socket for socket, making sure to seat it fully down into the socket when you install.

    If it all works, then it was bad seating.

    If you show half the RAM, but the RAM that works is in socket "B" this time, it's a bad RAM module

    If you show half the RAM, but still in socket "A" (i.e. the previously working module from A now does not work in Socket B) then it is a bad socket or maybe a fault introduced by 10.3.9's firmware upgrade. Call Apple. If you don't have Applecare and the machine is out of warranty, you may have a fight on your hands.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  4. Wagamuffin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #4
    Thankfully I noticed this problem before upgrading (I actually had 10.2.8 if you can remember that far :)), so hopefully I won't need a new board; I did finish my warrantee though :(. I will try opening 'er up right now and see. Thnx for the help!
     
  5. Wagamuffin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #5
    Hmmm here is an awkward question: is it possible to unscrew the memory lid without superhuman strength? I have tried several times and the tiny screws won't budge. It's like they've been welded into the case or something :S
     
  6. Wagamuffin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #6
    Woohooo. Managed to open it: I was an idiot and forgot to take out the battery first!. Also, 512 mb reading fine now :D Thank you sooo much for the help I woulda had to go all the way to Regent Street if it weren't for you!


    EDIT: I SPOKE TOO SOON :( about 5 minutes after posting the last message, my mac freezes up completely. I restart, and there are only 256mb of memory :(. The banks were swapped, but still the lower one is the "empty" one, so maybe this IS a logic board problem, although I never upgraded or anything :(.
     
  7. LiliSieben macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #7
    Lower RAM Slot problem on Powerbook G4

    I have the same problem on my 1.25 GH G4 Powerbook. I run OS 10.3.9 and no RAM chips are recognised in the lower slot (I have tried three different ones, just three beeps occur, no start-up). The powerbook is two years old, anyone know whether Apple will fix this or do I need to pay? Any advice appreciated. Lili
     
  8. discoforce macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #8
    They won't fix it for free if it's out of warranty. I've got the same pb, same problem, but it doesn't fall under their "memory slot repair extension program"

    Mine was covered by Applecare, but if yours is not and you can't afford the repair, you could always buy a 1gig card for your working slot. I wish Apple would recognize this problem is bigger than just the 1.5 and 1.67 15" PBs. :(
     

Share This Page