help help help!!! my mac is sick

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by ElectroGeek, Mar 2, 2005.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    #1
    i have a agp gigabit ethernet 400mhz and well, it runs like a pc, a realy sick pc.....
    i have tested the ram
    i have tested the hard drive
    i have tested the board and cpu with the mac test cd and they are fins however

    the fault:
    it crashes ofthen, after about 15 mins of running, or more usualy wont boot at all! and this is ditressing for me, i bought it because i understand macs dont crash and well, this is the ananim of it. can someone help,

    ps if any know is there is a mac users club in hamilton New Zealand i would be most thankful for its details

    ElectroGeek
     
  2. macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    Bad RAM is the usual culprit. Try swapping for new RAM, or try re-seating them. Reset the PMU by pressing the little black button on the mobo that is next to the battery.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
  4. macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #4
    Only press it once or else you can do major damage. Just one press. That's all it takes. Press twice=motherboard crash (open firmware crash in a way I guess)

    ONLY PRESS ONCE!
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #5
    heh, that's funny. apple support once told me to reset the PMU, so i did. then they had me reset it again, and one more time for good measure. it didnt fix the problem i was having (display went bad in an eMac) but once i had the display fixed everything was fine, pressing the PMU button once, twice, or thrice.

    (still though you're not supposed to press it but once)
     
  6. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #6
    Having physically seen this computer myself I can answer a few questions about it :)

    It's running 9.2.2, but reinstalling it didn't help. Tried swapping memory and video card, and I think we tried a different hard drive too. Tried disconnecting the CD drive. I think we narrowed it down to either the CPU, logic board, or power supply. My guess is that the logic board is dead :(

    Edit: Attempted to install OS 10.3.5 but I don't recall whether it succeeded.

    Edit 2: Moved to hardware forum.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    #7
    it goes on

    ok i have tested all sujestion with no sucsess, i saw somewhere online the gigabit eithernet modle should have a cooling block on the north bridge, would that do it?
     
  8. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #8
    Just to clarify the previous post: A couple of years ago I remember reading that the Philips chip on the back of the logic board should be cooled with a heatsink (as stated on the build your own Mac page).

    There is no aluminium block on the door, but if I recall correctly there is a little heatsink-sized gap there. Should there be a heatsink there?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    #9
    Should i give up

    should i jsut take it in to the shop and see if they can fix it or does someone out there still have an idea?
     

Share This Page