help help Western Digital hd external wont mount

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by carbonmotion, Apr 16, 2006.

  1. carbonmotion macrumors 6502a

    carbonmotion

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    Hi, before I began my tale of woe, let me tell you what system i have ...
    I'm running on OS 10.4.6 on a 1gz Powerbook G4 15" Aluminum model. I had a spare 5.25" 30 gb Maxtor UATA HD, so i bought a no name USB 2.0 enclosure (200gb max) and stuck the maxtor in there as an external... all good right? sure it works like charm. I bought a Western Digital 160 gb harddrive and stuck it to the same enclosure and no matter what i do i t wont mount on my powerbook... the read/writing and power light are both lit but not mounting occurs... anyone with any advice? I check some mac message boards, and it seems like mounting WD disks is tricky in general. I really need help, please someone help me?
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Did you set the 160 Gb drive to Master with the jumpers?

    You have Erased the drive with DiskUtility, yes? A new HD won't mount until it is Erased or Partitioned and has a Mac volume to mount.

    If yes to both of the above, it could be that the noname case can't provide sufficient power.
     
  3. carbonmotion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    carbonmotion

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    its a 12 v dc power... i dont see that as a problem

    i dont see it in disk util
    and it is set to master single
     
  4. carbonmotion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    carbonmotion

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    it mounts fine on windows cause the drive is formated ntsf
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    "12 VDC" doesn't tell you how much current it will deliver before it goes unstable...

    Formatted NTFS is a problem for Macs, because Macs cannot write to an NTFS volume.
     
  6. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #6
    NTFS volumes do mount as read only.
     

Share This Page