Help! How to Install Windows to PPC HDD?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by DigBick, Mar 31, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    #1
    (My English isn't very good sory)
    Let me just give you the story short
    I was derping around on my computer when my sister came into the living room and plugged it out. So I tryed to turn it back on and it continued to freeze during the initial boot in to Windows so I took out my HDD connected it to my G5 and backed up my game saves (Skyrim, minecraft, etc..) Reconnected it to my windows machine wiped the HDD and reinstall windows XP the install whent fine untill I was upgrading back to Windows Vista then my power whent out for about 4 hours. So then I had to reformat my HDD and do the process again.. Now my problem is my windows XP install disc got scratched (My regular and backup during the power outage).. :[ I wanted to know if there happened to be a program available for PPC G5 THAT would enable me to reinstall the windows os to my other HDD? Or something like that? I'm out of blank CD's and DVDs and I would really like to play my games before my easter break ends... HELP ME!! :(
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #2
    Windows is x86 based, your G5 is PPC based. You cant install windows on PPC, end of story.

    Now. Why are you installing XP then vista? when you boot the vista installer instead of installing as an upgrade choose the other option (custom install) and proceed as normal.

    In any event I would recommend upgrading to Windows 7 or Windows 8 as they are newer, faster, safer, and less likely to break your stuff. Also If you pressed f8 just before windows began booting you could have repaired the disk via vista's built in system repair utility.

    The key thing to learn is: Google before formatting. ;)
     
  3. DigBick, Mar 31, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 1, 2013

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    #3
    Captain, then HOW is it possible to emulate a full Windows computr on a PPC then? Please explain that to me.:) Because All I wanted to do was use one of those program and make it install the files to the drive and place it back in my windows computer.. :(I use a vista iso file and the serial on the back of my machine. Thats why I install XP then Vista.
     
  4. Jessica Lares, Mar 31, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 1, 2013

    macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #4
    Wow, who taught you English? They should be fired for teaching you that kind of language sir!

    Reinstall XP, then get a free copy of Daemon Tools. Load the ISO of Vista, and then run it, then press install. It'll reboot and load the Windows installer in memory. Don't ask me why this works, but it does.

    You're going to have a hard time getting a copy of Virtual PC for your G5. So this is why I suggest DT. Or you can make a bootable USB stick (you need a 4GB one though).
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    #5
    Hey, I do all of that already. :) I didn't need help with that part.... I needed help with the install of XP.. I have virtual machine on my G5 already. As aforementioned my XP installer disk and Back up installer disks where scratched during the power outage.. And my 4GB SanDisk Cruiser Had some E3 software on it and when I deleted it It screwed my flash drive.. So I can't use that.. Darn :(
     
  6. PowerPCMacMan, Mar 31, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 1, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #6
    Installing Windows Vista,7 or even 8 using either VPC 7.0.3, Q, iEmulator is a waste of time plus it would be so SLOWWWW!

    The only version of Windows that runs very fast on a G5, or even G5 Quad would be 2000 or 98 - BOTH of which are useless today.

    Best advice: If you wanna run windows on a mac, get an Intel Mac.. VPC just emulates x86 code under PPC which makes execution very slow.
     
  7. DigBick, Apr 1, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 1, 2013

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    #7
    All I wanted to do was install the Windows files to the HDD then place it back into the machine..
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    #8
    What they mean is that there is no way to run the installer to install to the target hard drive. The installer wouldn't run under PPC, whether you boot from the CD itself or attempt to do so under OSX itself. It just isn't possible to do what you want with a PPC mac.

    Why can't you install Windows from your windows pc? Anyways, you shouldn't need XP to install Vista, a proper XP key may be required, but it should work.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    #9
    I have the keys.. Didn't you read any of this post? Also how sould I go about getting it to boot off the G5?
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #10
    The only way you can get Windows to install on a PowerPC Mac is through Virtual PC for the Mac 7.0.3, Q, GuestPC, iEmulator, etc.. These are all emulators which will allow you to install Windows.. I will tell you this though:

    I have XP W/SP3 on my G5 Quad and its so darn slow that it can't really be used for much.. I then tried Vista by enabling a switch in Bios.. took me over 2 hours to install it...

    Its not worth it on a PowerPC to install Windows unless u only need a specific program... The best performing Windows under VPC were Win 2000 and Win98 - both long obsolete.

    Your better suited to get an Intel Mac if you really want to make use of Windows.

     
  11. macrumors regular

    Graveyard

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Location:
    Romania
    #11
    Jesus chrysler...

    What the heck is the matter with you people! English is not my native language and even i understand what the kid wants. He wants to install windows whichever way he can, directly on the pc hdd but using his g5 machine. In other words he is asking how he can get the virtual machine to install windows on that physical hdd and then plug it back in the pc and get it to work.

    Kid, what you are asking is not possible. Even if you can install windows on that hdd through a virtual machine, i hope you realize that due to the fact that windows configures its hardware configuration during the installation process, you might end up with blue screens from the start, or with a crappy working os (not that it doesn't achieve that on its own). And i for one haven't tried to get virtual pc to work with a physical hdd. I did try with vmware and it didn't work.

    If this doesn't answer your questions, i don't know what will. You have to get your hands on some blank discs. Write the friggin' vista iso on a disk and stop doing upgrade installs. You'll save some time and headaches.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    #12
    Perhaps you'd be better prepared should you actually read what we have to say. Like I and others have said, you can't. Unless you have a disk image of the Windows Vista HDD in question with everything already installed and configured, you can't do it. Keys or no keys, you are out of luck. It won't be recognized under OSX and would attempt to configure itself based on the virtual PC, meaning it wouldn't work.

    Why don't you install it using the PC in question? Keep the HDD in there, borrow someone's copy of Vista and install unsung your legally acquired activation keys. It's that simple. The G5 won't help you here. At all.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    rjcalifornia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    El Salvador
    #13
    I don't know, but you sound like rabidz...

    E3? I used E3 usb to install windows from usb, slow but it works.

    You 'can' install it with virtual machine, on your hard drive, however I'm not sure if it would work once you pull it out. Virtual Machine creates a special partition so I don't think it would work.
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #14
    I thought he was on about the E3 games conference?
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    rjcalifornia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    El Salvador
    #15
    hahahaha lol sorry U3! hahahahahaha wow, oops my bad haha
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #16
    To the original poster, what you are asking can not be done.

    There is no way to natively run Windows on a PowerPC Mac. Windows only works on an x86 intel processor, which the PowerPC Macs do not have.

    The install disc (if you had an un-scratched one) probably will not even boot.



    The closes you can get is emulation. VirtualPC was a program made by microsoft that ran within OSX. It created a virtual intel processor and let you use that to run Windows. XP would just be another program running within your Mac.
    If you did use emulation, you would not be able to move that hard drive to PC (unless the other PC was also a PPC Mac).


    What you are asking can not be done with a PowerPC Mac.
    It can not even be done easily with an intel Mac: you could use an intel Mac to install Windows (via bootcamp) to the hard drive. But windows would install drivers for the hardware in the mac. When you put that hard drive in a different computer, you won't have drivers for the new hardware and it won't boot. You would have to use the install disc AGAIN to re-install the drivers for the other PC.
     
  17. RedCroissant, Apr 4, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013

    macrumors 68020

    RedCroissant

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #17
    I know I'm getting into this thread kind of late, but how badly scratched is the XP disc? Have you tried loading it into the PPC and just burning a bootable iso?

    And if it's too late to play your games during your Easter break, if you want to replace the XP disc, then call Microsoft at this number:

    1-800-360-7561. That's who I called when I needed to replace mine and it only cost $20.
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #18

    I Thought that we came to the conclusion that it was just rabidz7 posing as digbick
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    rjcalifornia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    El Salvador
    #19
    Can someone just ban this guy? It is 2013, and he is at the powerpc forums, he should know that it cannot be done.

    I once tried to install XP via Emulation and it took 12 hours just to finish the installation. It is a waste of time and money.

    Get an old pc instead.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #20
    I second that request!! He needs to realize that it cannot be done.. no way, no how.. I am sorry, but Windows XP under emulation on a PowerPC is not feasible.. But I have to admit on my G5 Quad with all eye candy shut off, it does run somewhat nicely..


     
  21. macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    #21
    Ban who?
    And why?
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #22
    Dude,

    Is that a trick question?? Who's been the one saying that its possible to install Mountain Lion on PowerPC Macs, hmmm? I wonder who that would be.. and his name starts with a R and ends with a Z.

    Enough said.


     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    rjcalifornia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    El Salvador
    #23
    You dude, you

    You recommended me to use a hammer to get a screw out... Use a hammer on a laptop... on an iBook G4 from 2004...
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #24
    You told jeffs brother that he could run MW2 and Skyrim on his G5!!!
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    #25
    Who is jeff's brother?
    ???
     

Share This Page