iPhone HELP!!! how to unlock iPhone 4 from softbank japan to use in Philippines??

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Iking D man, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #1
    Please someone help me on how can I unlock my iPhone 4 ??
    It was originally purchased at japan (softbank - name of the carrier)
    I dont know what to do so I can use it here in the Philippines..
    Also I'm planning to subscribe to one of our provider here maybe GLOBE..
    Phone info:
    iOS version 4.1
    Firmware 02.10.04


    Please! Please! Please! Help me.. :)))

    Thanks a Ton.
     
  2. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Only option is to purchase a gevey turbo sim.
    Make sure you dont update to the official 5.0.1 firmware or you will not be able to use anything to unlock it then.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #3
    So I will keep my iOS as 4.1? How can I use some latest application? :( I also asked a store here nearby and I wa told that he can keep the firmware to 02.10.04 plus update the version to 5.0.1 then at the same time I can have it unlocked and use local network provider????

    Do think this is all true?

    Thanks :)
     
  4. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4

    Yes, 02.10.04 is your baseband version. Not the firmware.
    Your firmware is 4.1
    You can update to a custom 5.0.1 ipsw with redsnow and keep your old unlockable baseband version.
    You will still need to buy a gevey.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #5
    Now, I have the Gevey sim inserted and currently using a local sim network.. Also still have the version 4.1 ..
    I would like to upgrade it to 5.0.0 or 5.0.1
    Please show me how.. :) thanks a million. :D
     
  6. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    Go to iClarified.com and get a tutorial that uses Redsn0w and includes a No_BB IPSW to preserve your 2.10.xx baseband

    Just remember, the clock is ticking
    Once Apple stops signing 5.0.1, you can only go to 5.1 (and Redsn0w won't work for doing that)
     
  7. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Yes, use Tinyumbrella to save your shsh blobs.
    Hope Apple still releases 5.0.1 of you'd be stuck stayin at 4.1 or going to 5.1 and losing the unlock ability.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #8
    Guys.. Sorry for being so stupid.. :( can you please send me the URL? And where to go..
    Coz I've been looking but I can't find the right tutorials..
    Please please I'm badly begging you guys..

    Thanks sooooo much..
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #9
    Hi. I keep on trying to look for the right tutorial but have no luck.
    Please guys help me..
    Some tutorials are for Mac but currently I'm using win7 computer.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #10
    Someone help me please... :(
     
  11. macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #11
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #12
    One more question please.. Do I go for unlocking it first or jailbraek?
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    #13
    HElp iphone 4 firmware 04.12.01 update5.1 from japan need to unlock!!

    I also have the same problem my iphone is from softbank in japan and I need to unlock it but to use it in the dominican republic, I have moved from japan back home and Ive been told I cant use my phone because the firmware is 04.12.01 and it has the update for 5.1 so there is no turbosim for that, what can I do?
    I want to be able to use it here. :( :confused::confused:
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #14
    Did you not read what Applejuice said?
    Your firmware is 5.1 and 04.12.01 is your BASEBAND. Of cause you want to use it in Dominican Republic but you can't because your BASEBAND isn't supported.

    It took me 10 seconds to search Gevey turbo sim and it's not supported for your baseband. It's not that difficult, isn't it?
     
  15. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    Nothing you can do to unlock it.
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    #16
    Ain't there the SAM way
     
  17. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    SAM is patched over a month ago.
    Cant be used to unlock.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    #18
    my iphone 4s(softbank carrier) from japan was updated in version 6.0.1 in Philippines(already using the gevey sim before updating).. after updating it says "only compatible sim cards from a supported carrier may be used to activate iphone" ..but i've lost my softbank(sim). what should i do???? :confused:
     
  19. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #19
    You can try and find a grey market vendor who can IMEI unlock your phone.
    I do know that IMEI unlocks for SoftBank phones are very hard to find.
    Many others have posted this repeatedly.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    #20
    PLEASE DO HELP ME!!! on how to openline my iphone 4 black edition from japan.

    I want to use it here in the philippines. Please do help me :(

    It was originally purchased at japan. I dont think that it is softbank. but maybe it is. idk :( also im planning to subscribe to one of our provider here maybe GLOBE.

    Phone Information:
    iOS version: 6.1.3
    Modem Firmware: 04.12.05
    32 GB
    Black Edition
    Japan Baseband

    Pleaaaase do heeeellllp meee!!!!!
    Thanks a lot!!!
     
  21. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #21
    The only unlock for your phone is IMEI, very expensive for SoftBank phone ($250)

    Sell it, buy a phone you can unlock to use in Philippines.
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #22
    I want to win lottery too. Please help me?


    What the hell is Japan Baseband?! Don't make things up!

    If you actually READ the thread then you will know Modem Firmware IS the baseband.

    You need to learn how to search and read. Not going to mouth feed you.
     
  23. macrumors member

    FlyUnlock.com

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    #23
    You can't unlock this one. I think you should rather stop searching for the unlock as you would be scammed by someone claiming he can unlock it. So beware !
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    #24
    HELP!!!! Can I update my Iphone4 from version 4.1 to 6.1.3

    I already unlocked my phone using Gevey sim. My phone is from Japan and I'm using it here in the Philippines. I can already text or call in my phone but the problem is I can't download application because it requires a higher version. Can I update my phone from 4.1 to 6.1.3 using iTunes. Is it a good idea or not? What might happened to my phone if I update it?

    Iphone 4
    version 4.1
    firmware 02.10.04
     
  25. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #25
    If you update the baseband, the sim interposer will no longer work.
    You can use Sn0wbreeze to update to 6.1.3 and preserve the baseband, but it will be a tethered jailbreak (if you require the jailbreak to use the sim interposer - that might be an issue)
    Contact the sim manufacturer or retailer for correct support.
     

Share This Page