Help i can't find Xcode!

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by future macnerd, Sep 8, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #1
    Hi, I've "dabbled" here and there in programming, but I'm trying to learn C++ so I have a good "foundation" and I have looked around and seen stuff about GCC and Xcode, but I can't for the life of my find my Xcode installer, thus I can't use GCC and I can't learn C++..... any help on where to find it or what to do would be much appreciated! thanks
     
  2. macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    You will need to install it from you Leopard install discs

    Or you can download XQuartz

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    it's on your OS X install disk. It's under optional installs. When you insert the disk, look at the disk contents in column view or scroll down in icon view to see your other options.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #4
    Should be on the install disks that came with your Mac.

    If you don't have that (and there'll have been updates if you have an older Mac), you can sign up for a free ADC account on developer.apple.com and download the latest version from there. It's almost 1GB though.
     
  5. macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #5
    Xquartz has absolutely nothing to do with Xcode.
     
  6. macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    uhhh MacDawg, what do you think XCode is?
     
  7. macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #7
    Give me a break... I'm drinking heavily tonight ;)

    I do have XCode installed to run the Gimp

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  8. macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #8
    You don't need Xcode installed to run the GIMP either if you downloaded it from Wilber Loves Apple :). All you would need then is Xquartz (which is the bleeding edge version of Apple's X11 implementation).
     
  9. macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #9
    You're right... I was confused (more like drunk)... but I am on board now

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     

Share This Page