HELP! I messed something up! (Power Mac G4 won't boot)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Super20, Jul 28, 2006.

  1. Super20 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Location:
    Council Bluffs, IA
    #1
    So I need to update my boot rom on my G4 AGP model Powermac. I am currently running 10.4.7. OS9 was not installed on it. So I moved the OS9 folder from my Powerbook G4 to my second hard drive and told the computer to start from that folder (starting up in OS9 to update the firmware). Now the computer starts to boot and then a little disc appears with a question mark and won't do anything else? First, I don't have OS9 discs and I really need to update the rom on the AGp model. How can I do this?
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    You don't have an Mac OS X disks either? Just get the machine booted up and change your startup disk back to OS X, and go in and move things around again. Not sure why booting from OS 9 didn't work. If you don't have any startup disks (CD's or DVD's) then I don't really know what you should do.
     
  3. neocell macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #3
    Hold down the option key on boot up. You should be able to choose from all the OSs on your system, internal or external drives.
     
  4. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #4
    Wonder if that'll work... I thought you had to bless OS 9 so you could boot from it. I'm not sure copy and paste works.
     
  5. funkychunkz macrumors 6502a

    funkychunkz

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #5
    The real question is if the bless would stick.
     
  6. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #6
    bless should either make an attributes of the folder or make it known that the system has been blessed. That's how OS X installs is it copies everything then blesses it.
     
  7. spinne1 macrumors 6502a

    spinne1

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
    #7

    I think you need OS 9.1 for it to boot, so I would check that first. Next, your OS 9 installation may have machine specific information on it that the new machine does not handle, such as ROM stuff. If so, you probably need to get on ebay and buy a retail box version of OS 9 (OS 9.2 would be best). Once you have that, then install it to a clean external hard drive and then try to boot to it. I believe it will work.
     

Share This Page