Help: I ran out of HDMI connections

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by GRuizMD, Jul 6, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #1
    I just took the plunge and ordered a refurb 160Gb ATV!!!

    I have a nice collection of shows in iTunes and some movies as well However:

    I have an Onkyo Receiver and all the Inputs to the Onkyo are TAKEN :eek: by a PS3, Cable Box and DVD....

    Is there anything good that you guys recommend to install and be able to share a hdmi connection lets say between the DVD and the ATV

    HDMI replicator or something of that sort?

    Ahh and the same with the Optical audio too??

    THANKS!!
     
  2. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  3. macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #3
    Your options:
    - Use the other analog video and audio connections on your ATV
    - Connect the HDMI directly to your TV
    - Buy an HDMI (and TOSLINK) switch (you won't likely find a device which can do both, so expect to buy two different devices)
    - Buy a new receiver with more HDMI ports
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #4
    Thanks for your responses, Going for option 2, was able to find good HDMI switchers, probably the tosslink
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #5
    If you're using HDMI to go to your receiver, you shouldn't need to use the optical out at all (since HDMI carries the audio and video). So, all you need is an HDMI switch.

    I bought an HDMI switch from monoprice.com. When I first got it, I tried to use it to switch my Blu-ray player and Roku NetFlix player, but found it didn't work for the BD player. I then tried it between the Roku and the AppleTV. I got spotty results with the AppleTV at first, then tried switching my AppleTV resolution from 1080p to 720p (since it can only do 720p anyway) and now it works great 9apparently, the switch I got doesn't do 1080p very well).

    So, depending on the switch you get, you might need to jockey devices around to see which ones work best with the switch (it might depend on the resolution of each device).
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #6
    Many receivers only do HDMI passthrough and need an optical connection for digital audio.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #7
    Throw away your DVD player and use the PS3 to play those instead. That gives you the extra HDMI port you need. You can get a remote for the PS3 (if you don't have one already) for about the same amount of money as an HDMI switch, so the DVD player is really just redundant hardware.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #8
    yes. my Onkyo(and i am having a similar issue as the op in the manner of lack of inputs) only supports HDMI passthrew. so no 5.1 PCM, or TrueHD, or MasterAudo for me.:(
    does ur TV have component inputs? I am using those for extra devices when i run out of HDMI.


    Also Im pretty sure this is impossible, but does anyone know if u can create a new input selection on the Reciever? cause i have 2(assignable) hdmi, and 3 componant(Cable/Sat, Dvd, Vcr/DVR).
    the remote uses the number pad for changing inputs. could i use any of the other numbers for another input.
    sorry but i did kinda a terrible job of explaining that.:rolleyes:
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #9
    I second this recommendation. As soon as I got my PS3 I sold my DVD player on craigslist for only a few bucks less than what I had bought it for :D

    The PS3 works very well as an upscaling DVD player.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #10
    Yeah I know guys.... That is very well an option, as a matter of fact I was using my PS3 to play DVDs, (I had the remote) before getting the Onkyo...
    That may be the best all around idea here.... Lets see what the wifey says...
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #11
    If you don't want to get rid of the DVD player why not us Component for it to free up a HDMI port. HDMI isn't really needed for regular DVD video as Component can transmit at least 1080i (think 1080p is possible too but not often supported)
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008

Share This Page