Help!! ichat won't open!!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Macdantheman07, Jun 26, 2004.

  1. Macdantheman07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    Hi everyone i have just noticed that iChat will not open. I have tried repairing permissions, forcequitting the "ichat agent" from activity monitor, and i tried to activate ichat from the menu bar with the message bubble icon.

    This is very serious and i would appreciate some help. My social life is at stake! lol
     
  2. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
  3. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #3
    You've probably already done this, but have you restarted the machine, or at least logged out and back in again?
     
  4. Macdantheman07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    i don't think there is a way to reinstall ichat without reinstalling Panther itself
     
  5. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #5
    IF you actually tried my suggestion above, you would have found out that the installer will reinstall iChat AV 2.1 even though there is already some version of iChat installed on your computer. Hence, there is no need to reinstall the whole operating system.
     
  6. Macdantheman07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    just tried ur suggestion and it didn't do a thing. I believe that is just an update to ichat as it only weighs in at 4.1mbs
     
  7. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #7
    The link to the download site is for a full install of iChat AV 2.1, not an update. Don't determine an update from a full package based on its file size. Normally, unless a download page specifically states "Update" or "Full version," then the package is usually a full install and not an update.

    Well, since Plan A didn't work...

    Plan B: Go into this folder: [user]/Library/Preferences/

    Look for the following files:
    com.apple.iChat.AIM.plist
    com.apple.iChat.plist
    com.apple.iChatAgent.plist

    Delete them all, and try to open iChat again.
     
  8. Macdantheman07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    still didn't work but I appreciate all of your help though.
     
  9. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #9
    Make sure you're running 10.3.4 first, as there is a tech site that might be able to help you out...

    If you want to get more technical feedback as to why iChat is doing that, then post the situation over at www.thetechpub.com/phpBB2/ in the Apple help section and also include your current OS and Mac model.
     
  10. Macdantheman07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    I believe this is turning out to be a network problem. My other mac is having the same problem now that i checked it. My router may have blocked a port, but that doesn't make any sense because regular AIM opens up fine. i'll go check out the site u gave me
     

Share This Page