help! i'm having a networking problem

Discussion in 'macOS' started by twoodcc, Aug 22, 2005.

  1. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #1
    i haven't had my mini on the internet all summer, but now i'm back in college and i hooked it up to the school's network. the internet worked and everything, so i did a software update. after it installed all the updates except one (iphoto) i restarted. ever since then i can't get my internet to work. what should i do? i'm running 10.3.9 now (was 10.3.8)
     
  2. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #2
    surely someone can help me. my mac mini is my first apple, so i'm not used to trying to fix things on it. it seems that it's not reconigzing my ethernet port. under network, it shows internal modem, and that's it. any ideas?
     
  3. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #3
    Did you have to configure your connection to a static IP or did you just first plug it in and it worked? Are there any error messages? Do a screen grab of your internet connection settings for us to help.
     
  4. Calvinatir macrumors 6502

    Calvinatir

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Location:
    LA
    #4
    ok, go to the SHOW menu and then down to NETWORK PORT CONFIGURATIONS.

    Make sure built-in-ethernet is checked. Then select it and make sure under TCP/IP that you have USING DHCP selected. Hit apply now and see if it gets you an IP.
     
  5. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #5
    thanks for the replies. the first time i just plugged it up and i had internet. i actually had to go through a log-in process and then restart, and i had internet. i was happy. how do i do a screen grab? (sorry, i really should know this). i looked at all the network settings and i thought that they looked right. they were all set to automatic
     
  6. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #6
    well i'm still having no luck. is there any way to undo the updates?
     
  7. ph0rk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Location:
    OK
    #7
    does your school (if you live on campus) have a support line?

    Chances are you just have a minor settings issue, they should be able to walk you through it.
     
  8. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #8
    thanks. well i finally figured it out. it ended up being my actual port on my wall, not my computer. but i got it working now. thanks
     

Share This Page