help - installing OSX on PMacG3-350

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by spidler, Feb 11, 2005.

  1. spidler macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    #1
    Hey, I recently found myself a PowerMac G3 350 mhrz and want to put OS X on it. It currently has 8.5 installed on it, so when I tryed to boot from the install disk I got the weird source-like jargin. Anyway, I tried to install the "9.2.1 Update" but it says that my Firmware is out-of-date and that I need to run the utilities from the CD Extra folder. Well, I think that the CD that I got when I bought this computer is from a G3 Server, so it doesn't look to have any firmware updates on it.

    Anyway, what should my next step be? Where would I find firmware updates that old? :p This compu will be worthless for me if I can't upgrade it to OS X, Classic is dead.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #2
    Apple's website will have them. But they have to be done in 9.2 or 9.1 IIRC... not OS X, and not sure about OS 8.6.
     
  3. Leareth macrumors 68000

    Leareth

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #3
    If I remember this right when I installed OS X on my G3's
    I had to install 9.0 > 9.1 >9.2.0 >9.2.1>9.2.2 to get it to work in OS X
    the OS 9 installer is the one that had the firmware updates, and I think 8.6 had one too.
    Make sure you HD format is the right one too. I think it is supposed to be Mac OS Extended in order to install OS X, so you might have to wipe the hard drive.
    BTW I got rid of OS 9.2 from the G3's about a month later so you might just want to install OS X on a clean drive.
     
  4. Calvinatir macrumors 6502

    Calvinatir

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Location:
    LA
    #4
    make sure you also have LESS than 512 MB ram in it. I've tried to install Panther on older G3 powerbooks several times and had to remove ram chips to get it to complete installation. After installing panther you can put the ram chip back in. Weird, but it works.
     
  5. spidler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    #5
    awesome, you guys are great help. But don't I have to pay for OS 9.0? I don't want to buy an out-of-date OS just to delete it when I upgrade to OS X...

    but I'll look around Apple.com

    Thanks
     
  6. spidler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    #6
    i need more help. I got my compu upt to 9.2.2, but now when I try to install it I still get the panic jargin and it says something that I THINK means That it cant install on PowerMac 1,1. So, I got XPostFacto3, but it said it wasn't compatible with Powermac1,1...

    what should I do? Is there no hope?
     

Share This Page