Help! Internet will work on OSX, but not OS9?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by wylie, May 20, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #1
    hi

    first of all this problem has been bugging me since ive owned my powermac G4

    So ive got an internet connection running from broadband, into a router, connecting to my computer

    Ive got the internet working fine on OSX, but i havnt a clue how to configure it on OS9

    any help would be MUCH appreciated

    im sure theres someone here that knows?

    Thanks for your time
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    JOD8FY

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    I have never used OS 9 so I have no idea on how you would configure it. However, if your router came with software, try installing it on OS 9. Also, check your brower settings. I hope this has some truth to it...

    Best wishes,
    JOD8FY
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    #3
    I know my OS9, and I knew it was a **** to setup in OS9, broadband that is. But what kind of broadband you use? (A)DSL? I had to install something called a VPN Tunnelbuilder for ADSL, I don't know what people should do when on cable in OS9.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    flyfish29

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    New HAMpshire
    #4
    what kind of broadband would help...I know Verizon DSL won't work with OS9! Requires OSX. Is there a reason you want it to work with os9? Let us know why and we might be able to help you figure out a way to get rid of using OS9 and stay in OSX.

    Johnny
     
  5. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    On computers that don't boot into MacOS 9, Classic appears to inherit its Internet connection protocol from MacOS X 10.x. The TCP/IP control panel is not included. If your router uses DHCP, then you should have no problem. In fact, I find that it is easier to connect to the Internet with MacOS 9 than with MacOS X 10.x. A major problem is that not every router is a Linksys.

    You might try this: Find a copy of the TCP/IP control panel from a bootable installation of the same version of MacOS 9 as your copy of Classic. Install it. Configure it properly.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia
    #6
    if you are in os 9,
    go to the apple menu -> control panel -> tcp/ip -> set connect via to ethernet and configure to dhcp
    exit out and save.
    should work.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia
    #7
    that answer assumes the router is what you are going through.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Sparky's

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    #8
    I have RoadRunner (basic broadband huh!) I use OS 10.2.8 with Safari, OmniWeb, Camino, and FireFox. When I boot into OS 9 I have Internet Explorer 5.x running there and no problems. Classic web browsers are free downloads and work seemlessly in Classic. Just remember use Classic software when in Classic :D
     

Share This Page