HELP! IPOD is connected, on desktop, but won't show up on Itunes

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jmacatac2002, Jul 17, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #1
    I've looked all over for some help, and found nothing!

    My Ipod says connected, and the ipod image is on the desktop, its connected to the desktop. . . but when I go to Itunes there is nothing there.

    - I've updated to 7.7
    - Restarted my computer a BILLION times
    - Ejected and Rejected the Ipod
    - Went to Disk Utilities, its there
    and yet nothing in itunes that relates to my ipod

    The Ipod was working last night, I properly ejected it, and when I woke up this morning plugged it into my COMPUTER, and it connected, on the desktop but nothing in ITUNES.

    I've received no messages saying somethings wrong or nothing. . . I really need help!

    I don't want to reset my Ipod or lose my songs because of something as crazy as this. . . I have 4,500 songs, it would take forever. . .
     
  2. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Quit and relaunch iTunes. This has solved iPod/iTunes connectivity issues for me.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #3
    Yeah I've done that too a billion times too

    But now, my entire Ipod won't play any music. . . I ejected it, put in my headphones, pressed play and my songs just won't play
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #4
    This has never happened. . . I was playing it an hour ago, now it won't work, this is completely new????

    What's wrong, how can this happen, is it even possible???
     
  5. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    What kind of iPod do you have? I'd try restarting your iPod - instructions to do that are here (choose your iPod model first).
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #6
    A Classic, I forgot how many gigs, but I know its a lot I paid like $300 for it. So whichever one comes with the most gigs. I brought it in the SPRING
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #7
    How to reset again?
     
  8. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #8
    Here's the link you need - it's the first tab on that page, called Reset.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #9
    I've reset it and still get nothing, this is so weird
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #10
    I had something like this happen to me a few years ago with my 4g click wheel ipod. It turns out the hard drive was damaged because I threw my book bag and forgot my ipod was in it. :eek: My ipod would freeze up and take a long time to change songs. I would take over a minute sometimes just to change songs. At one point it stopped playing songs altogether and I took it to the apple store and it was replaced doe to a bad hard disk. This probably won't help you, but it kind of sounds like a damaged hard drive imo. Call Apple, they know more about it.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #11
    What's the number?
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #12
    Now, my Ipod had dropped earlier that night, but I have the protective shell/cover around it, plus I picked it up and kept listening to music. . . continued to listen to it that night, got up in the early morning and listened to it. . . I don't know if the falling had anything to do with it, but it did, since the effects were immediate.

    Plus: Its not skipping tracks like I heard from others, the wheel is very responsive, I'm able to see everything, it works like a regular Ipod except when I click on a song, it goes to the now playing menu like usual and just sits there, at zero, I hit play again, nothing, I try moving the song to the middle, it moves and still plays nothing. . .
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    Cheffy Dave

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
    #13
    want me to make the call too?:rolleyes:
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #14
    I fixed my ipod and heres how, for those who may counter this same problem:

    1.) I have an extra laptop in my house/room, its a PC. . .

    2.) I connected my Ipod to my PC, and it came up automatically and said that I needed to download an update to my Ipod, and I agreed to download the update.

    3.) Then I updated my Itunes on the PC, because I rarely use it to play my Ipod

    4.) And it worked. . . plugged it back into my Mac, restarted my computer and it worked.

    I guess my Ipod (the actual MP3 player) needed an update transfered into it. . . I don't understand why the Mac didn't detect that, but oh well...
     

Share This Page