help!!!! (iPod won't update)

Discussion in 'iPod' started by traXx13, Jul 11, 2006.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #1
    my ipod won't update...what will i do? i just got it a month a go..before it does but after a few weeks it won't update..an error occures when i try to update the songs using itunes..the error was "the ipod memory cannot be read or written to"..what should i do? please help,im from the philippines,and my ipod is from california..a gift from my uncle..please help me..i dont know what to do with it... :confused:
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #3
    yup..

    yup..i tried it..i still wont work..what else can i do? is there other way? please...............:confused:
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Are you on a Mac? You could connect it to the Mac, open Dick Utility in the Utilities folder and try repairing the disk. :)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #5
    nope..

    im using windows...:(
     
  6. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    You must be tired MJ, First Eric beat you and second the typo... (emphasis mine).

    To the original poster. Tell us more what kind of iPod, what version of iTunes, and what platform (Mac/PC) are you trying to use.

    B
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    I'm pretty stupid when it comes to Windows but I'm sure there's an alternative disk checking app. Actually, from memory, if you right click on the iPod in Explorer and go to Properties, there should be an option to check for errors under the Tools tab. :)



    How's it meant to be typed? :D

    Oh, and I think the platform being used is Windows... :p
     
  8. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    I don't think you need to check the filesystem here, particulalrly if running iPod Updater and doing a refresh/reformat didn't fix the problem.

    A thread on discussions.apple.com implies that this error can arise from a corrupted track in your library. Perhaops backing out any tracks you might have added around the time the errors started cropping up....

    http://discussions.apple.com/message.jspa?messageID=935101

    B
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #9

    im using an ipod shuffle..the ipod was bought last june, and im using the itunes that was included in the package,im not familiar with the version..( what platform (Mac/PC) are you trying to use.)???? :confused:
     
  10. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    Great. iPod shuffle, stock iTunes and running on Windows.

    See my last response. It seems like this error can show up for some corrupted tracks. This would explain your sudden onset of problems.

    B
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    If it's a shuffle then balamw is more likely to be correct in the assertion that it's a corrupt track. You can try checking for errors using the Properties method but it's probably more beneficial to try uploading just a few of your song at a time to the shuffle until you find the corrupt song(s) if there is/are any.

    Oh, and assuming you did the 5 Rs, you'll be running the very latest version of iTunes now. :)
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #12

    thankz..
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #13

    thnkz mad jew..

    balamw please dont be 2 hard on us beginners and less furtunte people.sentmntal value are more valueable 4 us than expnsive things..thankz for ur help..
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #14
    I had a similar. problem this spring

    luckily I was still on the one year warantee.

    I took it to the genius bar at apple in Ginza, and the guy said basically there was nothing they could do as I had screwed the software
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #15
    damn! pressed the wrong button

    anyway, what had happened, was I was using it on a windows machine at work, and i pulled it out before it had actually disconnected by the software, probably a difference of about 1-2 seconds!:mad:

    They gave me a new one on the spot, and I was a happy camper:D

    I recommend taking it to an Apple store ASAP, if not sooner, since your warantee may be finished (last June it was bought?):(
     
  16. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #16
    FWIW I was just trying to summarize the facts. The solution might have been quite different depending on which iPod you had, what software you were running, and whether you were trying to sync it with Windows or a Mac... If I had been trying to be hard on you I'd probably have put in a few :rolleyes: or :p .

    Did you ever get it working?

    B
     

Share This Page