Help!! I've set my desktop size bigger than my screen!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Effortless, Nov 3, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Location:
    West Kent, UK
    #1
    Hi folks,

    I hope some of you can help.

    I have somehow managed to set my desktop size as bigger than my screen size, and I don't know how to reset it!

    The problem seems to be that the desktop is magnified by about 10%, so it no longer fits on to the screen. I have to use a single finger on the trackpad to move around to get the edges of the desktop in view. I have tried resetting the screen size to its maximum of 1440x900, but this doesn't work.

    Any ideas how I can revert it back to normal? I'm sure it's something very simple, but if you don't know, you don't know!! And I can't find anything in the documentation.

    Many thanks,
    Effortless.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    MasterNile

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #2
    Is it possible you're just zoomed in? My wife thought she had somehow set the desktop size bigger than the screen then when I saw it I just noticed she had zoomed in. Zoomed out and it was all fixed.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #3
    Sounds like you've zoomed in to me. To zoom out, press control, and scroll down. You can use a mouse scroll or two-finger scroll (if that's on)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Location:
    West Kent, UK
    #4
    Sorted!!

    Thanks for the quick replies.... all sorted!!

    I didn't know OS X had this feature... great fun to play with!!

    Thanks again for your help.

    Effortless
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #5
    Another fun thing is simultaneously holding down ctrl+alt (option)+CMD and then pres "8". Do it again to reverse it.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #6
    Another effect is holding down shift when you say, open dashboard, or do expose, or show desktop, or open a stack, or anything like that.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    MasterNile

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #7
    I didn't know about that one, learn something new everyday
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Wow slomo really neat
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #9
    Steve Jobs actually showed that to the worldwide public during Leopard's launch
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #10
    Thats really old though, goes back at least to the OS 7.5 days. You could open files, launch programs,ask the comuter the time/date or to tell you a joke and it would.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #11
    Errm... are we talking about the same thing? I'm talking about the slomo trick, which I believe was only introduced in Mac OS X. the press shift to slomo. Or you could go to terminal and type say [whatever]. It'll read what you put in whatever.
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #12
    Sorry, thought it was regarding voice commands to do functions like opening programs etc, my mistake.
     

Share This Page