Help! "Keyword Assistant: unknown version of iphoto"

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mileslong, Mar 29, 2006.

  1. mileslong macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #1
    i just installed ilife '06 and now iphoto doesnt work. i keep getting this error message. can anyone help?

    i have a G4 powerbook 17" 1.67mgz latest version of tiger.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Does iPhoto load at all? Does it only give you this error when you try to add keywords? Is it the latest version of iPhoto? :)
     
  3. munkle macrumors 68030

    munkle

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    On a jet plane
    #3
    Go and download the latest version of Keyword Assistant :)

    Regardless iPhoto should still work, KA would have just been disabled upon launch.
     
  4. mileslong thread starter macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #4
    here is what is was doing before.

    now all the thunbnails are blurry and when i click on them they wont open to full size,,,:mad:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. mileslong thread starter macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #5
    it wont let me edit or do anything to the photos, it just shows thumbnails and thats it. im really glad i bought ilife '06 :mad: :mad:
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Assuming you have the latest version of everything, uninstall Keyword Assistant (there's a provided uninstaller according to their site) and tell us if iPhoto now works. :)
     
  7. mileslong thread starter macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #7
    i uninstalled keyword assistant and it still does the same thing..i totally got rid of all iphoto files reinstalled again and exactly the same thing, im totally stumped...:confused:
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    In getting rid of all iPhoto files, did you delete com.apple.iPhoto.plist and AlbumData.xml? This last file is where the keywords are kept. :)
     
  9. mileslong thread starter macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #9
    um yes i think i did probably, did i just "screw the pooch" as they say?:(
     
  10. mileslong thread starter macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #10
    i have my hard drive backed up on my lacie external drive. it has iphoto 5.04 on it. is there a way to take my iphoto '06 off of my laptop and then move the old iphoto files back on to my laptop from the external drive? if so how and would that maybe help?

    thanks in advance
     

Share This Page