HELP!! MacBook air trackpad not sensitive enough.

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Weinersnitzelz, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. Weinersnitzelz, Nov 21, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    I just recently bought the 2011 MacBook air 13" base model. My trackpad isn't nearly as sensitive to touch as all the store models I've tried.

    For example, when i use two finger scrolling it doesn't detect both fingers but about half of the time unless I put more pressure on the trackpad. The store models I've tried takes far less pressure to operate correctly. The same goes for three and four finger swipes. This is my first Mac so I'm not sure if maybe its a newer version of lion (I'm not sure what version the store models were running) or if it's my Air.

    Has anybody else seen this problem? maybe there's a setting I can't find?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    boy-better-know

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Have you tried to move your fingers further apart when 2 finger scrolling? If they are close together it doesn't work as well.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #3
    I have tried that, it still has issues. I would say that maybe it's just me doing something wrong but the store models I've tried work really well.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #4
    cold/damp climates/environments are not so good when using the trackpad.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Mine works fine using even if I am barely touching the trackpad with as little pressure that I can possibly exert.

    I would recommend that you make an appointment at a local Apple store if there is one nearby. They are usually good about replacements if the unit is faulty.

    /Jim
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #6
    My house is around 74 degrees and not damp so I don't think that is the problem, thanks for the help.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    I am sitting on the Oregon coast right now. Temperature has ranged from 4 - 10 C this weekend... and RH is about 100%. It is flawless, even when sitting outside on my balcony.

    I also use mine with my two fingers touching each other... so you should not have to separate your fingers to use the trackpad.

    I believe that it is capacitive, because if I touch the trackpad with just the tops of my fingernails (hand backwards), then it does not register. Whenever I touch the trackpad with the skin of my fingertips, it aways registers irrespective of pressure.

    /Jim
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #8
    That's what I've noticed with the store models I've tried. maybe I will have to go to Apple. I just bought it from Best Buy about 10 days ago plus I'm a silver member so I have 45 days to return/exchange it. I realize now how much I already have saved on it so I really don't want to have to backup and restore to a new one. If I were to take it to Apple would they repair it or replace it if there is in fact something wrong? Also, if they do replace it would they be able to transfer all of my files to the new one in store? Thanks
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    boy-better-know

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #9
    sounds like there could be something wrong. Get yourself down to your Apple store, your macbook is too expensive for it not to be perfect.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #10
    I think I will but, do es anybody think it could be a software issue? Maybe re installing Lion would help? Like I said I'm a total noob when it comes to Macs. Thanks
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #11
    One more question. Does it matter that I bought it from best buy? Or will the apple store still repair/replace it?
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    boy-better-know

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #12
    nope, apple will replace/fix your new mac. They are very much obliged to sort you out.
     

Share This Page