Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mcfable

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 13, 2008
Killeen, TX
Hello guys and gals, I'm a music producer, I make beats, song, do vocals you name it, I just make music. Now I'm stuck between buying a mac pro and the new 24" iMac 2.8ghz extreme. I'm aware the iMac is cheaper in price and that particular model is supposed to be a quad-core processor. With this new computer I want to be able to do 2 things flawlessly, play world of warcraft with maximum settings no anti-aliasing on and do my music production really fast as in rendering times. The only thing that stirs me away from the iMac is the current GPU, I haven't found a clear benchmark of how it would run WoW on maximum quality minus anti-aliasing. So there you have it, I need a computer that will run WoW perfectly and speed my rendering times up a heck of a lot for my music production while not getting over pricey. I'm currently using a AMD Athlon 64 3400 as my processor and a GeForce 6800 Ultra 256MB, 1GB Corsair XMS TWINX, Western Digital 160GB HD, MSI V-Series Mobo. As you can see, that processor blows for music production when I turn on lets say waves tune from Waves mercury, my system idles and finally it shows the plug-in, its very CPU load heavy. If you can plz help me out

motulist

macrumors 601
Dec 2, 2003
Given the description of your situation, it's simple really - buy the best machine you can afford. In other words, if you want faster render times, the faster the machine is then the faster the render time will be. The iMac should be quite fast, but the MacPro will be significantly faster.

p.s. paragraph breaks in your writing would be appreciated by the readers.

DJJONES

macrumors 6502
Mar 9, 2008
Newengland usa!