Help me decide

Discussion in 'Community' started by ponyboy, Aug 13, 2002.

1. ponyboy macrumors regular

Ok I think i'll get a new machine but I need some help, technically speaking. I have configured 2 systems see image, the are exact other than the processor speed and the 1mb of L2 casche each chip. Is there any other difference people can see and do you all think $500 is a good deal for those differences?

Attached Files:

2. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

Mr. Anderson

that really is a tough call. What are you going to be doing with it? And can you wait 6-8 weeks for delivery?

D

3. ponyboy thread starter macrumors regular

Time isnt a huge deal...(maybe I should wait for the power4)

I am a professional photographer and am totally digital. So I run constant custom batch actions in photoshop but nothing super complicated just sizing color adjustments sharpening and saving etc...

I also build and manage several Flash websites so I am running Flash Dreamweaver and Imageready...

And of course will be running 10.2

Not much of a gamer... hardly ever (do I need the radeon card?)

Right now I am running a Rev A Powerbook G4 500 so anything will be an improvement....

4. firewire2001 macrumors 6502a

honestly, i dont think the 250 mhz will do much more for you..

especially considering that the computer has 2 processors in it..

plus youll get it faster :D.

id just go ahead and buy the 1ghz model

-f

5. ponyboy thread starter macrumors regular

isnt it 500 mhz total and 2mb of l3 casche total? I am leaning to the $3500 machine

6. bbarnhart macrumors 6502a

bbarnhart

My 2 cents

The 2 meg L3 cache will be faster than the 1 meg L3 cache.

However, there will not be an 'extreme' difference between the two machines. You will see an extreme differnece between your PowerBook and either machine, including the entry-level.

7. awrc macrumors regular