help me plz arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by farqueue, Jun 23, 2006.

  1. farqueue macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    #1
    hi ppl, i just swtichetd to mac, and i have some VIEW in IE only pages, how can i load them thru safari? are there view in IE plugins ????

    these pages have protected access to them and copyright etc... and they only let ppl with IE view them....
     
  2. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #2
    Firefox in Windows has a plugin to view pages in IE. I don't know if the mac version has since I never bothered looking for it, but it might be worth a try.
     
  3. farqueue thread starter macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    #3
    it wont load if u dont have IE installed
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    In the Debug menu of Safari you can select to make Safari mimic Explorer. This may work. To turn the Deubg menu on, paste the following into Terminal (in the Utilities folder) when Safari is closed:


    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.Safari IncludeDebugMenu -bool YES

    To turn it off, change YES to NO. :)
     
  5. farqueue thread starter macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    #5

    howdo i get into terminal (in utilities folder)? sorry mac noob here
     
  6. Veldek macrumors 68000

    Veldek

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    In /Applications/Utilities/ there's an app called "Terminal". Open it and you will see a command-line interface. Then enter the above mentioned command. You'll have to restart Safari then.
     
  7. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    It's also probably good to mention that you can just copy and paste that command from the forum into the termninal, not like the DOS shell in Windows.
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #8
    Welcome to MR farqueue

    For even better responses, please make your thread titles relevant to the question you are asking.
    "Help me" has been used 2,187 already.
     
  9. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
    If you're uncomfortable using Terminal for something like this, you can use an app like TinkerTool or OnyX to enable Safari's Debug menu.
     
  10. emw macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #10
    Oh - once you've enabled the Debug menu, it will show up next to the Help menu item. To do what we're suggesting, select Debug > User Agent > <some IE client>. This will reload the page while having Safari pass itself off as your selected application.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page